Hangzhou Cricket Stadium China dimensions, boundary length in meters, records and stats for Asian Games 2023

Hangzhou Cricket Stadium China dimensions, boundary length in meters, records and stats for Asian Games 2023

Know the Hangzhou Cricket Stadium China dimensions and boundary length in meters for the 2023 Asian Games

On September 27, the highly anticipated men’s cricket category at the Asian Games 2023 got  off, marking a historic milestone as India makes its debut in the sport. The event promises strong cricketing action in the heart of China thanks to the involvement of cricketing giants India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan.

Ruturaj Gaikwad leads the Indian men’s cricket team in the Asian Games.

Hangzhou Cricket Stadium China dimensions, boundary length in meters, records and stats Asian Games 2023


Put into bat first in the Group A match at Zhejiang University of Technology Cricket Field, Hangzhou, China, Nepal ran berserk against a side entirely made up of T20I debutants. They rode record-breaking knocks from Kushal Malla (137 not out off 50 balls) and Dipendra Singh Airee (52 off 10 not out) to post a massive total of 314/3 in 20 overs for the first-ever 300-plus score in T20I history and then dismissed Mongolia for 41 runs in just 13.1 overs thus registering a 273-run win — which is also another world record.


The Indian cricket board then announced their team for the Asian Games once the 2023 Asian Games calendar was made public. The cricket competition will start on September 19 and last until October 7. However, the team named by the Indian Cricket Board, BCCI, indicates that a young, talented and exciting group of players will participate in the Asian Games and not the core group because the senior team will be preoccupied with World Cup 2023 preparations starting on October 5. The Indian team will be led by Ruturaj Gaikwad in the Asian Games.

Recently, a picture of the Chinese cricket stadium in Hangzhou, which serves as the Asian Games venue, has been making its way online. The Cricket Ground is fairly modest compared to the typical international cricket grounds in terms of size. The dimensions are 55 meters on the shorter side, 63 to 65 meters on either side of the wicket, and 68 meters down the ground.


The men’s team for the Asian Games includes some promising young players including Shivam Dube, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Prabhsimran Singh, and Rinku Singh, whilst the Indian Cricket Board has announced a full-strength women’s squad. Moreover, there will be just a two day gap between the completion of the Asian Games cricket event from the start of the 2023 edition of the ODI World Cup.

As a result, the World Cup roster was chosen with a number of players who have not yet competed for India’s cricket team on an international level. For chosen players, participating in the Indian squad in the Asian Games will undoubtedly be an honour. The Indian Premier League’s top players are all represented in the roster, which makes choosing the team fascinating.

Participating teams and tournament format


In an intriguing turn of events, all full members of the International Cricket Council (ICC) have chosen to send backup squads to represent their countries in the cricket competition at the Asian Games due to the overlapping schedule with the ODI World Cup. The competition is now more fascinating due to the exciting combination of seasoned pros and up-and-coming talents that has resulted from this decision.

Ten additional teams—Mongolia, Nepal, Japan, Cambodia, Bahrain, Maldives, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, and Hong Kong—have been added to the list of cricketing nations. Their presence gives the competition more diversity and highlights the growing popularity of cricket in Asia. India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, and Bangladesh, the top four teams in the ICC rankings, have earned direct spots in the quarterfinals, demonstrating their dominance in cricket. In a quarterfinal qualifier, the tenacious Mongolian team will face a battle against Afghanistan, another cricketing powerhouse.

In a round-robin style, the remaining nine teams have been split into three groups of three. The best team from each group will compete fiercely to go to the quarterfinals, where they will compete for a prized berth.