Women’s FIH Hockey World Cup Past Winners List, Runner-Up, Results, Score, History And Format

Women’s FIH Hockey World Cup Past Winners List, Runner-Up, Results, Score, History And Format

2022 Women’s FIH Hockey World Cup is scheduled to begin from 1st July 2022, we take a look at the history and all-time winners list of the prestigious competition

The International Hockey Federation will host the 15th Women’s FIH Hockey World Cup in 2022, which will serve as the quadrennial global championship for women’s national field hockey teams. From July 1 to July 17, 2022, it will take place in Terrassa, Spain, and Amstelveen, the Netherlands.

Women’s FIH Hockey World Cup History, Number of Teams, All-time Winners, And Most Successful Countries

Women’s FIH Hockey World Cup History, Format, Number of Teams, And Other Details

The Women’s Hockey World Cup is the field hockey World Cup competition for women, and it follows a similar structure to the men’s competition for qualifying and the final tournament. It’s been going on since 1974. Since their 1982 merger with the International Federation of Women’s Hockey Associations (IFWHA), the International Hockey Federation (FIH) has been in charge of organising the competition. Since 1986, it has been conducted every four years, concurrently with the men’s competition and in the interim year between the Summer Olympic Games.

The tournament’s size has evolved throughout time. The smallest World Cups, in 1974 and 1978, had 10 participating nations; the next highest, in 2002, had 16 participating nations; while the last seven World Cups have all had 12 participating nations. In 2018, the World Cup was once more increased to 16 teams, and the FIH will consider the same format in 2022.

The 2018 competition was held in London, England from July 21 to August 5, and the Netherlands won a record-tying eighth title after defeating Ireland 6-0 in the championship match.


Women’s FIH Hockey World Cup All-time Winners and Most Successful Teams

There have been fourteen tournaments so far, but only four teams have emerged victorious. Having captured the championship eight times, Netherlands is by far the most successful team. With two titles between them, Argentina, Germany, and Australia are tied for second place. The two winners who can currently defend their titles are the Netherlands and Australia. At the conclusion of the 2018 World Cup, fifteen countries have advanced to the championship semi-final round.

Year Host Winner Score Runner-up Third place Fourth place Number of teams
1974 Mandelieu, France Netherlands 1–0 Argentina West Germany India 10
1976 West Berlin, West Germany West Germany 2–0 Argentina Netherlands Belgium 11
1978 Madrid, Spain Netherlands 1–0 West Germany Belgium Argentina 10
1981 Buenos Aires, Argentina West Germany 1–1 (3-1) Netherlands Soviet Union Australia 12
1983 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia Netherlands 4–2 Canada Australia West Germany 12
1986 Amstelveen, Netherlands Netherlands 3–0 West Germany Canada New Zealand 12
1990 Sydney, Australia Netherlands 3–1 Australia South Korea England 12
1994 Dublin, Ireland Australia 2–0 Argentina United States Germany 12
1998 Utrecht, Netherlands Australia 3–2 Netherlands Germany Argentina 12
2002 Perth, Australia Argentina 1–1 (4-3) Netherlands China Australia 16
2006 Madrid, Spain Netherlands 3–1 Australia Argentina Spain 12
2010 Rosario, Argentina Argentina 3–1 Netherlands England Germany 12
2014 The Hague, Netherlands Netherlands 2–0 Australia Argentina United States 12
2018 London, England Netherlands 6–0 Ireland Spain Australia 16

Read More: Dewald Brevis Biography, Father Name, Age, Batting Stats, IPL 2022 RCB And Why He is Called “Baby ABD”.