Who is Tamim Rahman owner of Dambulla Thunders team in Lanka Premier League (LPL) as he’s arrested on suspicioun of match fixing

Who is Tamim Rahman owner of Dambulla Thunders team in Lanka Premier League (LPL) as he’s arrested on suspicioun of match fixing

Tamim Rahman, the owner of Dambulla Thunders team in Lanka Premier League (LPL) has been arrested

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) terminated the Dambulla Thunders franchise from its flagship T20 league on Wednesday following the arrest of its owner, Tamim Rahman, on suspicion of match-fixing.

Who is Tamim Rahman owner of Dambulla Thunders team in Lanka Premier League (LPL) as he’s arrested on suspicioun of match fixing at the airport

Rahman, a British citizen of Bangladeshi origin and owner of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) franchise Dambulla Thunders, was detained by immigration officials at Bandaranaike International Airport after a court order.

Tamim Rahman is also the Founder of Imperial Sports Group and has been remanded till May 31st over match fixing related charges.

📸 Dambulla Thunders pic.twitter.com/rLUNZj6cts

— Azzam Ameen (@AzzamAmeen) May 22, 2024

What Did the Authorities Say?

An official from the Special Investigation Unit for the Prevention of Offenses relating to sports at the Sports Ministry confirmed Rahman’s arrest. The Colombo Magistrate’s Court has remanded him in custody until May 31.

The SLC stated, “The Lanka Premier League announces the termination of the Dambulla Thunders franchise, effective immediately. This decision follows recent developments concerning the franchise’s ownership and the legal issues faced by Tamim Rahman, Founder of Imperial Sports Group.”

Charges Against Rehman Unclear?

The Dambulla franchise was acquired by Imperial Sports Group, led by Bangladeshi entrepreneurs, in April. However, the specific charges against Rahman remain unclear.

Although the details of the charges against Mr. Rahman are still unclear, maintaining the integrity and smooth operation of the


“This termination is intended to uphold the LPL’s values and reputation, ensuring that all participants adhere to the highest standards of conduct and sportsmanship,” stated the SLC.

The LPL management emphasized that they are “working diligently to address the consequences of this termination and to ensure minimal disruption to the upcoming season.”

LPL Schedule

Rahman is being investigated under two provisions of the country’s sports act related to match-fixing and attempting to place bets. The LPL is scheduled to take place from July 1 to 21.


What Did the Chairman of LPL Say?

Anil Mohan, chairman of the LPL rights holder IPG group, reacted to the development, stating, “We are committed to the highest standards of transparency and professionalism and will continue to support all our teams, players, and fans during this transition.”

Recently, a Sri Lankan court ordered Indian nationals Yoni Patel and P Akash to surrender their passports as both face indictment for match-fixing in the unsanctioned Legends Cricket League in Colombo.

Patel owns a team in the unsanctioned league, and both men, currently out on bail, are accused of attempting to fix matches played between March 8 and 19 at Kandy’s Pallekele Stadium.

Sri Lanka became the first South Asian country to criminalize match-fixing and corruption in sports with a law passed in 2019, imposing penalties of up to 10 years in jail and fines.

The law also punishes acts of omission such as failure to report corrupt approaches.


The auction for the fifth edition of the LPL, featuring 500 local and international players, was held on Tuesday.

Four years after its inception amid the COVID-19 pandemic, Matheesha Pathirana became the most expensive player in LPL history on Tuesday, commanding a USD 120,000 price tag with the Colombo Strikers for the 2024 edition.

Pathirana recently played for Chennai Super Kings in the IPL. Initially set to begin in 2018, the league was postponed multiple times due to administrative issues within SLC.

The current LPL title holder is B-Love Kandy, who won the 2023 edition by defeating Dambulla Aura in the final. The tournament is competed among five franchises.

ALSO READ: Was Urvashi Rautela the ex-girlfriend of YouTuber Adit Minocha on Splitsvilla 15