What is the Super Ballon d’Or, winners list, nominees, price and meaning

What is the Super Ballon d’Or, winners list, nominees, price and meaning

The Super Ballon d’Or is an incredible prize given to the most incredible players, check out previous nominees, winners list, selection process and the history

The Ballon d’Or stands as the pinnacle of individual recognition. Created by France Football in 1956, this prestigious award has celebrated the best footballers on the planet year after year. Yet, there exists an even more exclusive accolade—the Super Ballon d’Or. 

What is the Super Ballon d’Or, winners list, past nominees, price and meaning

The Super Ballon d’Or, unveiled in 1989, is a tribute to footballing excellence over an extended period. 

Unlike the Ballon d’Or, which rewards the best player of the previous year, the Super Ballon d’Or extends its gaze to encompass the most outstanding player of the past three decades. 

This makes it a rare and unique distinction, with only one footballer ever having claimed this illustrious title.

The inaugural Super Ballon d’Or found its home in the hands of Alfredo Di Stefano, the legendary forward from Real Madrid. 

This award was a testament to his remarkable career, one that spanned 11 years from 1953 to 1964, during which he scored 308 goals and helped secure 18 trophies for his club, including five consecutive European Cup triumphs. 

Di Stefano’s unique blend of skill, vision, and goal-scoring prowess made him a deserving recipient of this coveted accolade.


In addition to Alfredo Di Stefano, some legendary footballers have been nominated for the Super Ballon d’Or:

Michel Platini: The French maestro won three consecutive Ballon d’Or trophies from 1984 to 1986. His exceptional playmaking skills made him a strong contender.

Franz Beckenbauer: Known as one of the greatest defensive-minded players in football history, Beckenbauer’s contributions to the game earned him a place among the nominees.

Johan Cruyff: The Dutch footballing icon won the Ballon d’Or three times (in 1971, 1973, and 1974), showcasing his incredible talent.

The Super Ballon d’Or winner was chosen through a rigorous selection process that involved viewers and readers, a panel of France Football judges, and former Ballon d’Or winners. 

While viewers and readers leaned towards Michel Platini, the France Football jury and past winners ultimately bestowed this honor upon Alfredo Di Stefano. 


For years, Di Stefano’s Super Ballon d’Or trophy proudly graced the Real Madrid museum at Santiago Bernabéu Stadium. However, in a surprising turn of events in 2021, Di Stefano’s children opted to auction off his memorabilia, including this iconic trophy.

It fetched an astonishing £187,500, highlighting its immense value for collectors and football enthusiasts alike. Currently, the trophy’s whereabouts remain shrouded in mystery, adding an element of intrigue to its legacy.

Should the Super Ballon d’Or return in 2029, two outstanding individuals would vie for this prestigious title. 

The frontrunners for this exclusive honor are:

Lionel Messi: With a record-breaking seven Ballon d’Or wins, Messi remains the favorite, especially if he adds an eighth to his collection in the forthcoming year. His consistent brilliance has solidified his status as one of the sport’s greatest icons.


Cristiano Ronaldo: Often hailed as the greatest footballer in history, Ronaldo boasts a devoted following who firmly believe he deserves the Super Ballon d’Or. His extraordinary goal-scoring prowess and unrivaled work ethic have left an indelible mark on the sport.

The unique history of the Super Ballon d’Or raises questions about its future. While it has only been awarded once, there exists a slender possibility that it may reemerge in 2029, as it has been over 3 decades and will be precisely 40 years after its inception.

ALSO READ: What is PGMOL in the Premier League, head referee and full form meaning