PWI 2021 Annual Achievement Awards, CM Punk And Kenny Omega Win Big As AEW Overshadows WWE

PWI 2021 Annual Achievement Awards, CM Punk And Kenny Omega Win Big As AEW Overshadows WWE

The AEW was represented by CM Punk and Kenny Omega this year who also won big at the annual achievement PWI awards 2021 with the promotion dominating WWE 

The Pro Wrestling Illustrated Awards are voted for by the readers of the magazine on an annual basis. What initially started out with just a few categories back in 1972 has now transformed into the inclusion of several other categories if we take a look at what all has changed over the last 50 years.

So in order to celebrate the incredible year that All Elite Wrestling saw in 2021, the readers of Pro Wrestling Illustrated submitted the names of some of AEW’s best talents to accept a number of prestigious accolades.


PWI Annual Achievement Awards 2021 Full List: AEW Trumps WWE

Kenny Omega received the “Wrestler of the Year Award” for the very first time. He was exceedingly close to bagging the award back in 2018 but unfortunately lost the prize to AJ Styles.

CM Punk on the other hand collected two awards: “The Comeback of The Year” and “Most Popular Wrestler of The Year” with the latter prize coming after 11 years when Punk’s white-hot year as the Voice of the Voiceless in 2011.

Not just Omega and Punk, but AEW’s villains, namely The Young Bucks walked away with the Tag Team of The Year” award. The Inner Circle received “Faction of The Year” with its leader Chris Jericho’s contention with MJF bagging the “Feud of The Year”. MJF also won the “Most Hated Wrestler of The Year” award and rightfully so.


Other Winners At The Awards Apart From CM Punk And Kenny Omega Announced In 2022

Who we feel was absolutely splendid and highly impressive was AEW Women’s Champion Dr. Britt Baker DMD.. She sealed the deal with two wins- “Rookie of The Year” in addition to the “Match of the Year Award” for her duel against Thunder Rosa on the “St. Patrick’s Day Slam” edition of AEW dynamite.

The showdown between Baker and Rosa is only the second women’s match to procure the award, the 30- minute Iron Woman match between Sasha Banks and Bayley from NXT Takeover: Respect in 2015 being the first one.


As for WWE, it was Edge who walked away with the “Inspirational Wrestler of The Year Award, even though it was a clear victory or domination suffered by WWE at the hands of AEW.

Also Read: Elena Rybakina Biography, Age, Family, Parents, Age, Ranking, Tennis Career, Coach, Net Worth

Recommended: Sports Fan App

Vinamra Mehrotra

More Stories