Mohammedan Sporting Club (SC) owner, coach, stadium, squad players list, origin ahead of IPL 2024

Mohammedan Sporting Club (SC) owner, coach, stadium, squad players list, origin ahead of IPL 2024

The Mohammedan Sporting Club aka SC, a historic Indian football club, is all set to join the Indian Super League (ISL), India’s top football league, check out its owner, players and stadium

Mohammedan SC’s arrival in the ISL means that the top three clubs from Kolkata—Mohammedan, East Bengal and Mohun Bagan—are now back in the same league.

Mohammedan Sporting Club (SC) owner, coach, stadium capacity, squad players list, origin ahead of IPL 2024

The historic club gained promotion after beating Shillong Lajong FC 2-1 to win their first I-League trophy.

Mohammedan SC history and achievements

The Mohammedan Sporting Club is an Indian football club based in Kolkata, West Bengal and founded in February 22, 1891. The club recently gained promotion from the I-League, and they will now compete in the Indian Super League. It also competes in the Calcutta Football League, the oldest football league in Asia.

The club dominated the 1930s and 1940s when, in 1934, it became the first native Indian club to win the Calcutta Football League (CFL). The club also went on to win seven titles between 1934 and 1941, missing out only in 1939. Mohammedan SC also achieved the unique feat of winning the CFL and the IFA Shield in 1936.


The club won their first-ever Durand Cup title in 1940 and later won the CFL again in 1948. However, the club slowly deteriorated due to financial struggles and poor on-pitch performances. Mohammedan Sporting Club, along with some other clubs, were the founding members of the National Football League (NFL) in 1966. However, the club got relegated to the NFL second division and played during the 1997–98, 2000–01, 2002–03, and 2004–05 seasons.

More recently, during the 2013–14 season, Mohammedan SC got relegated to the I-League second division. The club eventually bounced back and achieved promotion back to the I-League. Aside from their performances in the league competitions, Mohammedan Sporting Club have also won the now-defunct Aga Khan Gold Cup on three occasions, in 1959, 1960, and in 1964.

Full name Mohammedan Sporting Club
Ground Mohammedan Sporting Ground Kishore Bharati Krirangan
Capacity 15,000 12,000
Owner Bunkerhill Private Limited (51%) Mohammedan Sporting Club Private Limited (49%)
President Amiruddin Bobby

Home stadium

The Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan (VYBK) is the home of the Mohammedan Sporting Club. The stadium has a seating capacity of about 15,000.

The full squad for the 2023-2024 can be found here.

Head coach

Andrey Chernyshov, a Russian professional football manager and former player, is the head coach of the club.


Impact on Indian football

When the ISL kicked off in 2014, the league did not feature any of the big three clubs from Kolkata. However, with the 2024-2025 season set to begin a decade later, the league will now have all three big clubs in Kolkata taking part, which include Mohun Bagan Super Giants, East Bengal FC, and Mohammedan SC. Moreover, the ISL will now host even more exciting Kolkata derbies in the upcoming season, with Mohammedan Sporting Club joining.

ALSO READ: Kingdom chapter 801 release date, time, spoilers and where to read online