ISL League Shield winners list by season and what does it mean

ISL League Shield winners list by season and what does it mean

Have a look at the full ISL League Shield winners list

Earlier, Mohun Bagan Super Giant secured their inaugural Indian Super League (ISL) Winners Shield by defeating Mumbai City FC with a score of 2-1 at the Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata.

ISL League Shield winners list by season and what does it mean explained

At the end of the regular season, the team with the most points is declared the winner of the League Winners’ Shield.

Here’s the comprehensive rundown of all the past winners of the ISL League Shield since its establishment in 2014:

FC Goa – 2019-2020

For the unfamiliar, in 2019-20 season, FC Goa made history after they became the first Indian club to secure a spot in the AFC Championship League group stage. The group achieve this feat after a resounding 5-0 victory against Jamshedpur FC.

The Gaurs clinched the League Winners Shield, capping off their remarkable journey. The club finished the season with 39 points winning in 12 out of 18 matches.
Although they suffered loss but only in 3 matches.

Additionally, they dominated the goal-scoring charts, netting a staggering 46 goals, surpassing ATK, the second highest-scorer, by a notable 15-goal margin, with ATK tallying 31 goals.


Mumbai City FC – 2020-2021

In season 2020-21, Mumbai City FC became the second Indian club to join the group stage of AFC Championship League. The former coach of Mumbai City FC, Sergio Lobera, celebrated as his team secured the League Winners Shield with a decisive 2-0 victory over ATK Mohun Bagan at the GMC Stadium in Bambolim.

Beyond securing a coveted spot in the group stage of League, Mumbai City FC also secured the Shield and the accompanying Rs. 50 Lakh prize. Despite both teams finishing with 40 points, MCFC claimed the top spot due to their previous victory over ATK Mohun Bagan during the league stage encounter.

Jamshedpur FC – 2021-2022

Jamshedpur FC executed a precise strategy to secure a crucial solitary-goal victory against ATK Mohun Bagan in the final match of ISL-8 at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Fatorda, Goa.


This victory not only clinched them the top spot but also awarded them the prestigious League Winner’s Shield. This historic win propelled Jamshedpur FC to achieve an unparalleled tournament feat of seven consecutive victories.

Mumbai City FC – 2022-2023

In 2022-2023 season, at the Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Goa, Mumbai City FC triumphed over FC Goa with a remarkable 5-3 victory to claim the ISL League Winners Shield.

This marked the second time the Islanders secured the Shield, and notably, the first time under the guidance of coach Des Buckingham. Commencing their ISL journey with an exhilarating 3-3 draw against Hyderabad FC, Mumbai City FC demonstrated consistency throughout the season, culminating in a commendable second-place finish for the defending champions, garnering 36 points from 17 games.

With the win over FC Goa, MCFC surged to an unprecedented 46 points, setting a new record for the highest point tally in an ISL season.


Mohun Bagan Super Giant – 2023-2024

Now, in season 2023-2024, at Kolkata’s Salt Lake Stadium, on April 15, Mohun Bagan Super Giant secured the shield with a 2-1 victory over Mumbai City FC. The Mariners reclaimed the title from the Islanders, fueled by goals from Liston Colaco and Jason Cummings.

Despite a tense moment with MCFC’s Lallianzuala Chhangte scoring in the 89th minute, Mohun Bagan maintained their lead, even with 10 players after Brendan Hamill’s dismissal in the 91st minute.
Following this win, Mohun Bagan Super Giant surged to 48 points from 22 matches, narrowly surpassing the now second-placed Mumbai City FC (47) by a single point.

ALSO READ: Miss AI contest 2023 winner prize money, date, judges and contestants