ICC ODI Cricket Cricket World Cup winning captains and all time winners list year wise

ICC ODI Cricket Cricket World Cup winning captains and all time winners list year wise

We analyze the list of winning captains and winners list, who successfully guided their nations to victory in an ICC Men’s ODI Cricket World Cup

The ICC invited all former World Cup-winning captains to attend the final match between India and Australia on November 19. Each ex-captain will receive a special blazer in the morning, which they will sport during the game. Clive Lloyd, Kapil Dev, Allan Border, Arjuna Ranatunga, Steve Waugh, Ricky Ponting, MS Dhoni, Michael Clarke, and Eoin Morgan plan to be present. However, Imran Khan won’t attend due to his current incarceration in Pakistan.

ICC ODI Cricket Cricket World Cup winning captains and all time full winners list year wise


ICC Cricket World Cup winning captains list and historical trend

In the last 12 editions, ten different men led their nations to ICC Cricket World Cup triumphs, two of them achieving this feat twice. Clive Lloyd steered the formidable West Indies team to victory in the initial World Cups. Later in 1983, cricket legend Kapil Dev made history by leading the underdog Indian team to World Cup glory against defending champions at Lord’s.

In 1987, the Australian team, led by Alan Border, astounded the world with a victory over England at Eden Gardens, claiming the World Cup in front of 100,000 spectators. The following two tournaments marked historic wins for Asian teams: Pakistan, driven by Imran Khan, clinched the title in 1992 by defeating England at the MCG, while Sri Lanka, under Arjuna Ranatunga’s leadership, triumphed over former champions Australia in 1996, scripting an inspiring underdog tale.


In 1999, Steven Waugh captained the Australian team, which became the second squad to secure two World Cup victories. This initiated an era of Australian supremacy, during which Ricky Ponting successfully defended the title twice (in 2003 and 2007) without experiencing a single defeat. The era of Australian dominance came to an end in 2011 when MS Dhoni, at the helm of the Indian team, guided India to their second title.

Dhoni made history as the inaugural captain to guide a host nation to a World Cup triumph on its own soil. Following this precedent, Michael Clarke of Australia and Eoin Morgan of England replicated the feat by steering their teams to World Cup victories at the MCG and Lord’s in 2015 and 2019, respectively. On the evening of November 19, either Rohit Sharma or Pat Cummins will have the privilege of hoisting the Men’s Cricket World Cup trophy.

we examine the list of captains who lifted the prestigious trophy:
Team Captain
1975 West Indies Clive Lloyd
1979 West Indies Clive Lloyd
1983 India Kapil Dev
1987 Australia Alan Border
1992 Pakistan Imran Khan
1996 Sri Lanka Arjuna Ranatunga
1999 Australia Steve Waugh
2003 Australia Ricky Ponting
2007 Australia Ricky Ponting
2011 India MS Dhoni
2015 Australia Michael Clarke
2019 England Eoin Morgan