Full List Of The Durand Cup Winners And Runners Up: Know Which Team Has Won The Most Titles

Full List Of The Durand Cup Winners And Runners Up: Know Which Team Has Won The Most Titles

Take a look at the list of the winners and runners up in the history of the Durand Cup and know which side has won the title the most times 

Durand Cup is the third oldest professional football competition in the world. It is also the oldest competition in Asia. It started back in 1888 and still takes place every year. Durand Cup is one of the most prestigious football competitions in India and East Bengal and Mohun Bagan have been the most successful teams in the competition winning the competition 16 times each. With that being said let’s take a look at all the winners in the history of Durand Cup.


All Time Durand Cup Winners And Runners Up List

1888Royal Scots FusiliersHighland Light Infantry
1889Highland Light InfantryShimla Rifles (2nd Punjab Volunteer Rifle Corps)
1890Highland Light InfantryRoyal Irish Fusiliers
1891King’s Own Scottish BorderersEast Lancashire Regiment
1892King’s Own Scottish BorderersArgyll and Sutherland Highlanders
1893Highland Light InfantryArgyll and Sutherland Highlanders
1894Highland Light InfantryRoyal Scots Fusiliers
1895Highland Light InfantrySomerset Light Infantry
1896Somerset Light InfantryBlack Watch
1897Black WatchShimla Rifles (2nd Punjab Volunteer Rifle Corps)
1898Black WatchNorth Staffordshire Regiment
1899Black WatchYorkshire Regiment
1900South Wales BorderersEast Lancashire Regiment
1901South Wales BorderersSouth Staffordshire Regiment
1902Hampshire RegimentEast Lancashire Regiment
1903Royal Irish RiflesQueen’s Regiment
1904North Staffordshire RegimentBlack Watch
1905Royal DragoonsDorsetshire Regiment
1906Cameronians (Scottish Rifles)Bedfordshire Regiment
1907Cameronians (Scottish Rifles)Royal Welsh Fusiliers
1908Lancashire FusiliersRoyal Irish Rifles
1909Lancashire FusiliersKing’s Regiment
1910Royal ScotsKing’s Royal Rifle Corps
1911Black WatchLancashire Fusiliers
1912Royal ScotsLancashire Fusiliers
1913Lancashire FusiliersKing’s Royal Rifle Corps
1914–19Cancelled because of World War I
1920Black WatchCameronians (Scottish Rifles)
1921Worcestershire RegimentRoyal Fusiliers
1922Lancashire FusiliersRoyal Field Artillery
1923Cheshire RegimentEssex Regiment
1924Worcestershire RegimentEssex Regiment
1925Sherwood ForestersWorcestershire Regiment
1926Durham Light InfantrySherwood Foresters
1927York & Lancaster RegimentEast Indian Railway Regiment
1928Sherwood ForestersYork & Lancaster Regiment
1929York & Lancaster RegimentEast Yorkshire Regiment
1930York & Lancaster RegimentLeicestershire Regiment
1931Devonshire RegimentBorder Regiment
1932King’s Shropshire Light InfantryDevonshire Regiment
1933King’s Shropshire Light InfantryLeicestershire Regiment
1934Royal SignalsArgyll and Sutherland Highlanders
1935Border RegimentRoyal Norfolk Regiment
1936Argyll and Sutherland HighlandersGreen Howards
1937Border RegimentRoyal Scots
1938South Wales BorderersBorder Regiment
1939Cancelled because of World War II
1940MohammedanRoyal Warwickshire Regiment
1941–49Not held
1950Hyderabad City PoliceMohun Bagan
1951East BengalRajasthan Armed Constabulary
1952East BengalHyderabad City Police
1953Mohun BaganNational Defence Academy
1954Hyderabad City PoliceHindustan Aircraft Limited
1955Madras Regimental CentreIndian Air Force
1956East BengalHyderabad City Police
1957Hyderabad City PoliceEast Bengal
1958Madras Regimental CentreGorkha Brigade
1959–60Mohun BaganMohammedan
1960–61Mohan Bagan and East Bengal Joint Winners
1961Andhra Pradesh PoliceMohun Bagan
1962Cancelled because of Indo-China war
1963Mohun BaganAndhra Pradesh Police
1964Mohun BaganEast Bengal
1965Mohun BaganPunjab Police
1966Gorkha BrigadeSikh Regimental Centre
1967East BengalBengal-Nagpur Railway
1968Border Security ForceEast Bengal
1969Gorkha BrigadeBorder Security Force
1970East BengalMohun Bagan
1971Border Security ForceLeaders Club
1972East BengalMohun Bagan
1973Border Security ForceRajasthan Armed Constabulary (Bikaner)
1974Mohun BaganJCT
1975Border Security ForceJCT
1976  BSF and JCT Joint Winners
1977Mohun BaganJCT
1978East BengalMohun Bagan
1979Mohun BaganPunjab Police
1980Mohun BaganMohammedan
1981Border Security ForceJCT
1982 Mohan Bagan and East Bengal Joint Winners
1983JCTMohun Bagan
1984Mohun BaganEast Bengal
1985Mohun BaganJCT
1986Mohun BaganEast Bengal
1987JCTMohun Bagan
1988Border Security ForceEast Bengal
1989East BengalMohun Bagan
1990East BengalMahindra United
1991East BengalBorder Security Force
1993East BengalPunjab State Electricity Board
1994Mohun BaganEast Bengal
1995–96East BengalTata Football Academy
1997FC KochinMohun Bagan
1998Mahindra UnitedEast Bengal
1999SalgaocarEast Bengal
2000Mohun BaganMahindra United
2001–02Mahindra UnitedChurchill Brothers
2002–03East BengalArmy XI
2003SalgaocarEast Bengal
2004East BengalMohun Bagan
2005Army XISporting Goa
2007Churchill BrothersMahindra United
2008Mahindra UnitedChurchill Brothers
2009Churchill BrothersMohun Bagan
2010Prayag UnitedJCT
2011Churchill BrothersPrayag United
2012Air IndiaDodsal
2016Army GreenNEROCA
2019Gokulam KeralaMohun Bagan
2020Cancelled because of Covid

ALSO READ: “A weak penalty,” Sir Jackie Stewart Believes Max Verstappen Got Away Too Easily For His Collision With Lewis Hamilton 


Recommended: Courses in Sports Management

More Stories