Formula 1 Winners List By Year: All The Drivers And Teams To Secure The F1 Championship

Formula 1 Winners List By Year: All The Drivers And Teams To Secure The F1 Championship

Get up to speed with the full list by year of the F1 winners drivers and constructors who have secured the Formula 1 Championship.

Formula 1 is the most competitive and expensive motorsports in the World due to the finances involved. To secure a Formula 1 Championship, the drivers and constructors perform week in and week out to witness success. Meanwhile, some teams just exist in the sport in order to make the Championship more interesting.

Many drivers have taken the challenge of controlling the beast of a car in Formula 1, but, not everybody triumphs. Meanwhile, some push all the barriers and establish themselves as one of the greatest drivers of the generation to find a place in the list of the F1 winners.


Formula 1 Winners: List of Drivers and Team who have won the F1 Championship By Year

                 SEASON               DRIVER        CONSTRUCTOR               ENGINE
2020 Lewis HamiltonMercedesMercedes
2019 Lewis HamiltonMercedesMercedes
2018 Lewis HamiltonMercedesMercedes
2017 Lewis HamiltonMercedesMercedes
2016 Nico RosbergMercedesMercedes
2015 Lewis HamiltonMercedesMercedes
2014 Lewis HamiltonMercedesMercedes
2013 Sebastian VettelRed BullRenault
2012 Sebastian VettelRed BullRenault
2011 Sebastian VettelRed BullRenault
2010 Sebastian VettelRed BullRenault
2009 Jenson ButtonBrawnMercedes
2008 Lewis HamiltonMcLarenMercedes
2007 Kimi RäikkönenFerrariFerrari
2006 Fernando AlonsoRenaultRenault
2005 Fernando AlonsoRenaultRenault
2004 Michael SchumacherFerrariFerrari
2003 Michael SchumacherFerrariFerrari
2002 Michael SchumacherFerrariFerrari
2001 Michael SchumacherFerrariFerrari
2000 Michael SchumacherFerrariFerrari
1999 Mika HäkkinenMcLarenMercedes
1998 Mika HäkkinenMcLarenMercedes
1997 Jacques VilleneuveWilliamsRenault
1996 Damon HillWilliamsRenault
1995 Michael SchumacherBenettonRenault
1994 Michael SchumacherBenettonFord
1993 Alain ProstWilliamsRenault
1992 Nigel MansellWilliamsRenault
1991 Ayrton SennaMcLarenHonda
1990 Ayrton SennaMcLarenHonda
1989 Alain ProstMcLarenHonda
1988 Ayrton SennaMcLarenHonda
1987 Nelson PiquetWilliamsHonda
1986 Alain ProstMcLarenTAG
1985 Alain ProstMcLarenTAG
1984 Niki LaudaMcLarenTAG
1983 Nelson PiquetBrabhamBMW
1982 Keke RosbergWilliamsFord
1981 Nelson PiquetBrabhamFord
1980 Alan JonesWilliamsFord
1979 Jody ScheckterFerrariFerrari
1978 Mario AndrettiLotusFord
1977 Niki LaudaFerrariFerrari
1976 James HuntMcLarenFord
1975 Niki LaudaFerrariFerrari
1974 Emerson FittipaldiMcLarenFord
1973 Jackie StewartTyrrellFord
1972 Emerson FittipaldiLotusFord
1971 Jackie StewartTyrrellFord
1970 Jochen RindtLotusFord
1969 Jackie StewartMatraFord
1968 Graham HillLotusFord
1967 Denny HulmeBrabhamRepco
1966 Jack BrabhamBrabhamRepco
1965 Jim ClarkLotusClimax
1964 John SurteesFerrariFerrari
1963 Jim ClarkLotusClimax
1962 Graham HillBRMBRM
1961 Phil HillFerrariFerrari
1960 Jack BrabhamCooperClimax
1959 Jack BrabhamCooperClimax
1958 Mike HawthornFerrariFerrari
1957 Juan Manuel FangioMaseratiMaserati
1956 Juan Manuel FangioFerrariFerrari
1955 Juan Manuel FangioMercedesMercedes
1954 Juan Manuel FangioMaseratiMaserati
1954 Juan Manuel FangioMercedesMercedes
1953 Alberto AscariFerrariFerrari
1952 Alberto AscariFerrariFerrari
1951 Juan Manuel FangioAlfa RomeoAlfa Romeo
1950 Giuseppe FarinaAlfa RomeoAlfa Romeo

British F1 driver Lewis Hamilton is looking to secure his eighth drivers Championship and currently leads the table. Meanwhile, Max Verstappen is working tirelessly in order to dethrone Lewis Hamilton from the top spot and win his first Championship.


Hamilton is drawn with German driver Michael Schumacher who won seven driver’s championships and is one of the legends of the sport. Ferrari is the constructor with the most number of Championship titles.

ALSO READ: “I don’t think you can be cool if you care,” Sebastian Vettel Questions Max Verstappen And His Attitude Ahead Of The Turkish Grand Prix 


Recommended: Courses in Sports Management

Rohan Brahmbhatt

More Stories