FIFA World Cup Complete Winners List And Most Successful Team In Football History

FIFA World Cup Complete Winners List And Most Successful Team In Football History

The top national teams from around the globe compete in the FIFA World Cup, know the full winners list and the most successful team

A tremendous amount of interest is generated every four years when the FIFA World Cup is played, as football is often regarded as the most popular sport in the world.

Having won the 2018 World Cup, France are the current and previous champions. As a result of the scorching summer temperatures in Qatar, the forthcoming World Cup 2022 will be the first winter World Cup in history.

FIFA World Cup Complete Winners Full List And Most Successful Team In Football History

Which is taking place from November 18 to December 20 in the Gulf state of Qatar. It’s also the first time the FIFA World Cup has been played in the middle of the club football season.

Football’s international governing organisation, FIFA, was established in 1904; it was responsible for organising the football tournament at the Antwerp 1920 Olympics, the first Olympic Games to have an intercontinental tournament.

As a result, the inaugural FIFA World Cup may take place in 1930. In addition to becoming Olympic champions in 1924 and 1928, Uruguay hosted the event in honour of their country’s centennial of independence.

In addition to hosting the inaugural FIFA World Cup, Uruguay went on to win the tournament and bring home the trophy by defeating Argentina 4-2 in the championship game.


Then in 1934 and 1938, Italy repeated as World Cup champions, making them the first nation to ever do so. Uruguay won their second World Cup in 1950, while West Germany won their first in 1954.

With five victories, Brazil has more FIFA World Cup titles than any other country. In addition, they are the only team in history to have made it to the World Cup in each of its 21 iterations.

Legendary Brazilian forward Pele, just 17 years old, led his team to victory with six goals in the 1958 tournament, which Brazil won. The final score was Brazil 5, Sweden 2. Brazil took home the medal after beating the hosts in the final. In 1962, Brazil successfully defended their crown.

Later that year, in 1966, England became the first team in history to win the FIFA World Cup. Geoff Hurst of England is the first player in World Cup history to score a hat trick, doing so in the 4-2 victory over West Germany.


Champion Pele Has Most FIFA World Cup Victories

In 1970, Pele led Brazil to its third World Cup victory. Pele holds the record for most World Cup victories by a person with three. In 2002, Brazil last won the World Cup. In 1978, Argentina became the first team to win the World Cup, and in 1986, thanks to the heroics of the late Diego Maradona, they won their second.

France, led by Didier Deschamps, a modern footballing great, defeated Brazil in the 1998 FIFA World Cup final to become the next champions. Didier Deschamps became only the third person to win the title as both a player and a manager after leading France to victory in the 2018FIFA World Cup.

Both Mario Zagallo of Brazil and Franz Beckenbauer of Germany have accomplished this. German forward Miroslav Klose has scored 16 goals in the  Cup between 2002 and 2014. Frenchman Just Fontaine scored 13 times at the 1958 FIFA World Cup, setting a new record for most goals scored in a single World Cup.


FIFA World Cup winners list

Year Winners Runners-up
1930 Uruguay Argentina
1934 Italy Czechoslovakia
1938 Italy Hungary
1950 Uruguay Brazil
1954 West Germany Hungary
1958 Brazil Sweden
1962 Brazil Czechoslovakia
1966 England West Germany
1970 Brazil Italy
1974 West Germany The Netherlands
1978 Argentina The Netherlands
1982 Italy West Germany
1986 Argentina West Germany
1990 West Germany Argentina
1994 Brazil Italy
1998 France Brazil
2002 Brazil Germany
2006 Italy France
2010 Spain The Netherlands
2014 Germany Argentina
2018 France Croatia

To know more about FIFA World Cup, do follow The SportsGrail on a regular and frequent basis.

ALSO READ: Who Is FX Demaison Ex-Williams Technical Director Demaison, His F1 Career And Teams

error: This function is not allowed