EFL Championship All Time Winners List, Golden Boot Award Winners, Winning Prize Money

EFL Championship All Time Winners List, Golden Boot Award Winners, Winning Prize Money

Know who are a part of the winners, runner-up, promotion play-off winner and top goal scorers list of each season in the EFL Championship.

The English Football League Championship is the top tier of the English Football League (EFL), and the second highest in the English football league system after the Premier League. A total of 24 clubs compete in the league.

The Championship is the world’s wealthiest non-top-flight football division, the ninth wealthiest in Europe, and the tenth most popular in the world. For the 2018–19 season, the average match attendance was 20,181.

EFL Championship All Time Winners List, Golden Boot Award Winners And Winning Prize Money

EFL Championship Teams, Matches, Rules, and Format

There are 24 teams in the league. Each team competes in 46 games over the length of a season, which spans from August to May each year. Each team plays twice against the other teams in the league, once at ‘home’ and once at ‘away.’ A win is worth three points, a tie is worth one, and a loss is worth zero. The teams are placed in the league table based on points earned, goal difference, goals scored, and their season head-to-head record.

The top two teams and the winner of the Championship play-offs are promoted to the Premier League at the end of the season, while the lowest three are relegated to Football League One.

All-time Winner, Runner-up and Promotion Play-offs Winner in EFL Championship

Newcastle United, Norwich, Reading, Wolves, and Sunderland hold the record of winning most EFL Championship titles with two titles each. Norwich are the reigning champions having won 2020-21 EFL Championship and achieved promotion for 2021-22 Premier League Season.


Fulham FC are close to becoming the winners of 2021-22 season EFL Championship while, Norwich are close to relegation from Premier League.

Season Champions Runner-up Play-off winner
2004–05 Sunderland Wigan Athletic West Ham United
2005–06 Reading Sheffield United Watford
2006–07 Sunderland Birmingham City Derby County
2007–08 West Bromwich Albion Stoke City Hull City
2008–09 Wolverhampton Wanderers Birmingham City Burnley
2009–10 Newcastle United West Bromwich Albion Blackpool
2010–11 Queens Park Rangers Norwich City Swansea City
2011–12 Reading Southampton West Ham United
2012–13 Cardiff City Hull City Crystal Palace
2013–14 Leicester City Burnley Queens Park Rangers
2014–15 Bournemouth Watford Norwich City
2015–16 Burnley Middlesbrough Hull City
2016–17 Newcastle United Brighton & Hove Albion Huddersfield Town
2017–18 Wolverhampton Wanderers Cardiff City Fulham
2018–19 Norwich City Sheffield United Aston Villa
2019–20 Leeds United West Bromwich Albion Fulham
2020–21 Norwich City Watford Brentford

EFL Championship Top Scorers by Season

Alexander Mitrovic is close to win the top-scorer award of 2021-22 EFL championship, which will be his second award. Mitrovic won the award previously in 2019-20 season with 26 goals and looks assured to win again with record-breaking 40 goals. Brentford ace Ivan Toney was the top-scorer in EFL Championship 2020-21 season with 31 goals, which was the previous EFL Championship goal scoring record.

Season Nationality & Top scorer Club Goals
2004–05 England Nathan Ellington Wigan Athletic 24
2005–06 Jamaica Marlon King Watford 21
2006–07 England Jamie Cureton Colchester United 23
2007–08 England Sylvan Ebanks-Blake Plymouth Argyle and Wolverhampton Wanderers 23
2008–09 England Sylvan Ebanks-Blake Wolverhampton Wanderers 25
2009–10 England Peter Whittingham, England Nicky Maynard Cardiff City.

Bristol City

2010–11 England Danny Graham Watford 24
2011–12 England Rickie Lambert Southampton 27
2012–13 England Glenn Murray Crystal Palace 30
2013–14 Scotland Ross McCormack Leeds United 28
2014–15 Republic of Ireland Daryl Murphy Ipswich Town 27
2015–16 Jamaica Andre Gray Burnley 25
2016–17 New Zealand Chris Wood Leeds United 27
2017–18 Czech Republic Matěj Vydra Derby County 21
2018–19 Finland Teemu Pukki Norwich City 29
2019–20 Serbia Aleksandar Mitrović Fulham 26
2020–21 England Ivan Toney Brentford 31

The revenue for winning the playoff final stands at £135 million to £265 million, depending on whether a promoted team can avoid immediate relegation.

Official figures for the 2018-19 season showed that broadcast revenue totalling £2.4 billion ($3bn) was distributed among the 20 clubs in the Premier League and of that, each club was guaranteed at least £34.3m ($43.4m) in equal share payments, £43m ($54.4m) in international TV and £4.9m ($6.2m) in central commercial payments: a base line of roughly £82.5 million ($104.4m) per team, regardless of position.


Read More: Dewald Brevis Biography, Father Name, Age, Batting Stats, IPL 2022 RCB And Why He is Called “Baby ABD”.

Recommended: The Sports Fan App