Championship League Snooker All Time Winners List, Results, Format, History, Rules, 2022 Prize Money Pool

Championship League Snooker All Time Winners List, Results, Format, History, Rules, 2022 Prize Money Pool

Know the full winners list of the Championship League Snooker along with the format and the prize money breakdown for the 2022 edition

A professional snooker competition called the Championship League was created by Matchroom Sport. Beginning in September 2020, a ranking event version of the tournament that was accessible to players on the whole World Snooker Tour played similarly to its invitational, non-ranking predecessor but with a few small adjustments.

Championship League Snooker All Time Winners List, Results, Format, History, Rules, 2022 Prize Money Pool Breakdown

History and Previous Format of Championship League Snooker

Barry Hearn launched the competition in 2008 to increase competitiveness and a qualifying round for the Premier League Snooker. Players receive money for each frame they win, as well as bonuses for finishing in the top three in each group and winning, with the winner’s group receiving the largest payouts. As long as all four frames were played, all matches in the group stages during the first two years may result in a draw. The semi-finals and championship game, however, were best of five.

From its inception in 2008 until 2016, the competition was initially hosted at the Crondon Park Golf Club in Stock, Essex. It was hosted in Coventry’s Ricoh Arena from 2017 to 2018. The current winners of the invitational and ranking editions are John Higgins and David Gilbert, respectively.

Latest Format for Ranking edition of Championship League Snooker in 2022

Each group hosted six matches in the round-robin format first stage. All games during group play were best-of-four-frame affairs, with the victor receiving three points and the loser receiving one. Players’ point totals, frame disparities, and head-to-head outcomes between players who were tied are used to create groupings. The group’s highest break was then used to break any remaining ties.

The top 32 contestants qualified for the group winners’ stage, which consists of eight groups of four contestants. The final day of the competition will feature eight champions from the group winners’ stage, who would be divided into two groups. Later, two group winners will clash in the final for the crown as the champion will receive a spot in the 2022 Champion of Champions as well as the Championship League trophy.

Maximum Break Achievement in Championship League Snooker

When they faced off in their group two league stage encounter in 2014, Shaun Murphy scored the first one against Mark Davis. Against Stephen Maguire in their league stage match of group one at the 2015 competition, Barry Hawkins achieved the second. Later, in his league stage encounter versus Xiao Guodong during group seven’s 2015 competition, David Gilbert scored the third maximum break.


Fergal O’Brien made the fourth maximum break in 2016 while playing Mark Davis in group six during the league tournament. In the decisive frame of the Group Three playoff final against Neil Robertson, Mark Davis produced the fifth in the competition’s history. Later, Davis became the first player to make two maximum breaks in a competition when he made another one in the fifth and final frame of his Winners’ Group round robin match against John Higgins.

Luca Brecel made the eighth maximum in the competition’s history in the 2018 edition, the first of his career, during his match against John Higgins. In his match against Stephen Maguire in group 5 of the round robin for the 2019 Championship League, David Gilbert recorded another maximum break. Gilbert’s second professional maximum break also marked the Championship League’s sixth straight season with a maximum.

All-time Winners of Championship League Snooker

Year Winner Runner-up Final score
Championship League (non-ranking)
2008 England Joe Perry England Mark Selby 3–1
2009 England Judd Trump England Mark Selby 3–2
2010 Hong Kong Marco Fu Northern Ireland Mark Allen 3–2
2011 Wales Matthew Stevens England Shaun Murphy 3–1
2012 China Ding Junhui England Judd Trump 3–1
2013 England Martin Gould England Ali Carter 3–2
2014 England Judd Trump England Martin Gould 3–1
2015 England Stuart Bingham England Mark Davis 3–2
2016 England Judd Trump England Ronnie O’Sullivan 3–2
2017 Scotland John Higgins Wales Ryan Day 3–0
2018 Scotland John Higgins China Zhou Yuelong 3–2
2019 England Martin Gould England Jack Lisowski 3–1
2020 Scotland Scott Donaldson Scotland Graeme Dott 3–0
2020 Belgium Luca Brecel England Ben Woollaston Round-Robin
2021 England Kyren Wilson Wales Mark Williams 3–2
2022 Scotland John Higgins England Stuart Bingham 3–2
Championship League (ranking)
2020 England Kyren Wilson England Judd Trump 3–1
2021 England David Gilbert Northern Ireland Mark Allen 3–1

2022 Championship League Snooker Details and Prize Money

The professional ranking snooker competition called the 2022 Championship League is currently taking place at Leicester, England’s Morningside Arena from June 28 and will run till July 29, 2022. It is the opening ranking event of the 2022–2023 snooker season and the 19th edition of the Championship League.


The winner of the Snooker Championship League in 2022 will get a cash reward of £20,000. Meanwhile, the runner-up in the competition will get £10,000. However, there will also be a different monetary award given at each stage of the competition. This tournament’s total prize pool is $328,000 as opposed to the first one’s £200,000 prize fund.

Read More: Dewald Brevis Biography, Father Name, Age, Batting Stats, IPL 2022 RCB And Why He is Called “Baby ABD”.

Recommended: The Sports Fan App