BWF World Tour Finals Badminton All-Time Winners And 2022 Winner Prize Money Breakdown

BWF World Tour Finals Badminton All-Time Winners And 2022 Winner Prize Money Breakdown

Know who are the former champions and most successful countries at the prestigious BWF World Tour Finals badminton along with the previous winners list and 2022 edition prize money

China has been the most successful country in history of BWF World Tour Finals with six gold medals including two in mixed doubles category. Meanwhile, Japan and South Korea have won three titles each compared to India’s solitary title in women’s singles division.

BWF World Tour Finals Badminton All-Time Full Winners And 2022 Winner Prize Money Breakdown

All-Time Winners of HSBC BWF World Tour Finals, Most Successful Countries, & Performance of Indian Shuttlers

The HSBC BWF World Tour Finals, which replaced the BWF Super Series Finals, is an annual badminton competition that takes place in December of each year. Players competing for a minimum of US$ 1,500,000 in total prize money are those who have earned the most points from the BWF World Tour events held during that calendar year.


Since BWF World Tour Finals began in 2018, PV Sindhu is the only Indian shuttler to bag gold medal, after she won the inaugural edition’s women’s singles event. Denmark’s Viktor Axelsen is the reigning men’s singles champion and Taiwanese Tai Tzu-ying is current women’s singles champion after they won this tournament in 2021. Meanwhile, Thai pair Dechapol & Sapsiree have won back-to-back titles in mixed doubles category and hope to repeat their success story in 2022.

Edition Year Host City Men’s Singles Women’s Singles Men’s Doubles Women’s Doubles Mixed Doubles
1st 2018 Guangzhou China Shi Yuqi India P. V. Sindhu China Li Junhui Japan Misaki Matsutomo China Wang Yilyu
China Liu Yuchen Japan Ayaka Takahashi China Huang Dongping
2nd 2019 Japan Kento Momota China Chen Yufei Indonesia Mohammad Ahsan China Chen Qingchen China Zheng Siwei
Indonesia Hendra Setiawan China Jia Yifan China Huang Yaqiong
3rd 2020 Pak Kret, Nonthaburi Denmark Anders Antonsen Chinese Taipei Tai Tzu-ying Chinese Taipei Lee Yang South Korea Lee So-hee Thailand Dechapol Puavaranukroh
Chinese Taipei Wang Chi-lin South Korea Shin Seung-chan Thailand Sapsiree Taerattanachai
4th 2021 Badung Regency, Bali Denmark Viktor Axelsen South Korea An Se-young Japan Takuro Hoki South Korea Kim So-yeong Thailand Dechapol Puavaranukroh
Japan Yugo Kobayashi South Korea Kong Hee-yong Thailand Sapsiree Taerattanachai

2022 BWF World Tour Finals Schedule, Date, And Prize Money

For each edition of BWF World Tour Finals, the total prize pool is distributed as per below provided formula. This states that each doubles category winner will bag 8.4% of pool and each singles champion will get 8% prize money. Hence, singles category winner will get $120,000 and doubles event winner will receive $126,000 from net prize pool of $1,500,000.

Round Men’s singles Women’s singles Men’s doubles Women’s doubles Mixed doubles
Winner 8.00% 8.00% 8.40% 8.40% 8.40%
Runner-up 4.00% 4.00% 4.00% 4.00% 4.00%
Semi-finalist 2.00% 2.00% 2.00% 2.00% 2.00%
3rd in Group 1.10% 1.10% 1.30% 1.30% 1.30%
4th in Group 0.60% 0.60% 0.70% 0.70% 0.70%

Read More: Dewald Brevis Biography, Father Name, Age, Batting Stats, IPL 2022 RCB And Why He is Called “Baby ABD”.