BWF Malaysia Open badminton 2024 final winner, prize money, results and score today

BWF Malaysia Open badminton 2024 final winner, prize money, results and score today

Know the BWF Super 1000 Malaysia Open badminton 2024 final results, score, winner and list of champions along with their prize money

Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty approached securing their inaugural title of this year in the Malaysia Open 2024 final. However, they faced defeat in three games (21-9, 18-21, 17-21) against China’s Wang Chang and Liang Weikeng. Having reached the final, the Indian duo etched their names in history as the first Indians to achieve this milestone in the Malaysia Open Super 1000 since the Open Era commenced in 1983.

BWF Malaysia Open badminton 2024 winner prize money and final winners list men’s, women’s, mixed singles and doubles, results today and score

2024 Malaysia Open final day results, scores, winners, & list of champions

Anders Antonsen secured his inaugural BWF World Tour Super 1000 title at the Malaysia Open on Sunday, triumphing over Shi Yuqi with a decisive 21-14, 21-13 victory in just 54 minutes. This significant accomplishment marked the pinnacle of Antonsen’s career, and he joyfully celebrated by tossing his shirt into the crowd and smashing a shuttle into the net.

In the women’s singles final, Republic of Korea’s world number one, An Se-young, emerged victorious in a three-game battle against Tai Tzu Ying, prevailing 21-10, 10-21, 21-18. An, who was the runner-up a year ago, showcased resilience in the face of Tai’s early dominance. An’s rapid reflexes and court coverage, coupled with a couple of mistakes from Tai, secured her the title in 58 minutes, making her the first Korean to win the Malaysia Open women’s singles title.

Other notable victories included Watanabe Yuta and Higashino Arisa claiming Japan’s first Malaysia Open mixed doubles title, Liu Shengshu and Tan Ning winning an all-Chinese women’s doubles final, and China’s Liang Weikeng and Wang Chang overcoming a slow start to win the men’s doubles final against the Indian pair Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty.

14th January Men’s Singles Final Results

Shi Yuqi (China) 14-21, 13-21 Anders Antonsen (Denmark)

Women’s Singles Final Results

An Se-young (South Korea) 10-21, 21-10, 21-18 Tai Tzu-ying (Chinese Taipei)

Men’s Doubles Final Results

Liang Weikeng / Wang Chang (China) 9-21, 21-18, 21-17 Satwiksairaj Rankireddy / Chirag Shetty (India)

Women’s Doubles Final Results

Liu Shengshu / Tan Ning (China) 21-18, 21-18 Zhang Shuxian / Zheng Yu (China)

Mixed Doubles Final Results

Kim Won-ho / Jeong Na-eun (South Korea) 18-21, 15-21 Yuta Watanabe / Arisa Higashino (Japan)

Malaysia Open 2024: List of Champions

Men’s Singles: Anders Antonsen


Women’s Singles: An Se-young

Men’s Doubles: Liang Weikeng & Wang Chang

Women’s Doubles: Liu Shengshu & Tan Ning


Mixed Doubles: Yuta Watanabe & Arisa Higashino

2024 Malaysia Open: prize money distribution

Denmark’s Anders Antonsen emerged victorious in the 2024 Malaysia Open men’s singles, earning a prize of $91,000 from the total purse of $1,300,000. Likewise, An Se-young, the top-seeded champion of the women’s singles final, will also receive $91,000. In the men’s doubles, the Indian pair Satwik and Chirag will secure $45,500 despite their loss in the championship match.

Event Winner Finalist Semi-finals Quarter-finals Last 16 Last 32
Singles $91,000 $44,200 $18,200 $7,150 $3,900 $1,300
Doubles $96,200 $45,500 $18,200 $8,125 $4,225 $1,300