Annual Kodansha Manga Award 2024 awards winners and nominees list and prize money

Annual Kodansha Manga Award 2024 awards winners and nominees list and prize money

The 48th edition of the Annual Kodansha Manga Award have revealed the finalists and winners list for 2024

Across all three categories, the Annual Kodansha Manga Awards has announced the manga titles that performed the best. These Awards continue to commemorate great works in the manga industry by recognising the creativity and brilliance of manga artists and writers.

For those who don’t know, Manga are comics or graphic novels from Japan. The majority of manga follow a style developed in Japan in the late nineteenth century. Outside of Japan, the word is typically used to refer to comics originally published in Japan.

Annual Kodansha Manga Award 2024 awards winners and nominees list and winner prize money

Fans eagerly anticipate Annual Kodansha Manga Awards awards each year. These awards started in 1977 with just shōnen and shōjo categories. The general category began in 1982, and the children’s category started in 2003. From 2015, the children’s category was combined into the shōnen and shōjo categories.

Every winning title gets a bronze statue, a certificate, and a prize of 1 million yen (about US$7,500).

Best Shonen Manga award

The winner of the prestigious Best Shonen Manga award is “Frieren: Beyond Journey’s End.” It is written by Kanehito Yamada and Tsukasa Abe has carried out the illustration part. Shogakukan published it in Weekly Shonen Sunday. This series was also nominated for the award in 2022.

Nominations for this category included,

The Fragrant Flower Blooms With Dignity by Saka Mikami

Gachiakuta by Kei Urana

Tank Chair by Manabu Yashiro


Daemons of the Shadow Realm by Hiromu Arakawa

Best Shojo Manga award

The winner of the Best Shojo Manga award is “Looking At Your Profile” by Rumi Ichinohe, published by Kodansha in Bessatsu Friend.

Nominations for this category included,

Firefly Wedding by Oreco Tachibana


In the Clear Moonlit Dusk by Mika Yamamori

A Sign of Affection by Su Morishita

General category awards

Winner in the general category is Medalist by Tsurumaikada. This series was previously nominated in 2023.

Other nominees included the following

OSHI NO KO written by Aka Akasaka, drawn by Mengo Yokoyari


The Darwin Incident by Shun Umezawa

Chiikawa: Nanka Chiisakute Kawaii Yatsu by Nagano

Nagatan to Ao to by Ichika no Rourijou

Bokyo Taro by Yoshihiro Yamada

Also Read: Who is Supreme Court judge Justice Hima Kohli, biography, age, family, husband, education and religion – The SportsGrail