Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2024 new rules and regulations, format, boundary length and players

Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2024 new rules and regulations, format, boundary length and players

The second edition of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2024 is all set to take place soon, and fans are excited to find out more about all the new rules and format changes along with the boundary length

The WPL 2024 will start on Friday (February 23), featuring five teams competing across two venues in Bengaluru and Delhi.

Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2024 new rules and regulations, format, boundary length and overseas players limit

The WPL, which is the women’s edition of a premium T20 tournament in India had it’s inaugural edition last year, where the Mumbai Indians beat the Delhi Capitals to clinch the title.

Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2024 venues

The first phase of this year’s edition will take place at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru, following which the second phase and the playoffs will take place at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi.

WPL 2024 coaching personnel changes

For the upcoming competition, UP Warriorz have brought in Abhay Sharma as a fielding coach. Meanwhile, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Gujarat Giants have brought in new head coaches, Luke Williams, and Michael Klinger, respectively.

As preparations for the tournament get underway check out the changes in rules and formats below.

WPL 2024 major rules and changes

Given below are the major rules for the upcoming competition:

Impact Player rule

While all matches will feature 11 players on each side, there is no Impact Player rule like the IPL.

Overseas Player Rule


The WPL 2024 will feature an overseas players’ limit of four players per team. However, an Associate Nation player can play as the fifth overseas player.

WPL 2024 Super Over Rule

In the event of a tie, a super over will determine the winner. In case a super over cannot determine the winner, the match will end in a tie with both teams receiving one point each. If this rule is not possible in the eliminator or the final round, then the team with the higher position on the table is the winner.


Each team in the WPL 2024 will receive 20 overs each, which could reduce based on weather or other circumstances. When the overs are reduced, the DLS calculation will come into play.  Moreover, both sides will need to complete a minimum of 5 overs to determine the winner. If both teams fail to complete the 5 overs, then the two teams will share points if there is no further play during the league stage.


WPL 2024 powerplay rule

Given below is number of powerplay overs for WPL 2024:

Total overs in innings Number of Powerplay overs
5-8 2
9-11 3
12-14 4
15-18 5
19-20  6

WPL 2024 DRS rules

Each team can use two unsuccessful reviews for each innings. As such, both teams will have two reviews when fielding and two when batting. Moreover, the TV umpire can also use UltraEdge and HawkEye technologies for edge detection and ball-tracking. Match officials can use technology to challenge an on-field wide or no ball during the Women’s Premier League. They can also challenge the regular LBW and caught-behind dismissals in the game.

WPL 2024 strategic time out


Each innings in the tournament will have two strategic time outs set at overs 6-9 and 13-16.

WPL 2024 playoff and points format

Just like last season, the top three teams at the end of the league stage will enter the playoffs. The top team will earn a direct entry into the WPL final, while the other two will compete in an Eliminator match. The winner of the Eliminator match will then enter the final. Like any other regular T20 league, the WPL 2024 will also follow a traditional points system. Each win will give 2 points, while a No Result will have the two teams split their points. Meanwhile, the loser will get zero points.

WPL 2024 pitch and field changes

The upcoming competition will feature 25.15 yards (23 meters) instead of the regular 30 yard circle. Moreover, the field restrictions inside powerplay will remain 2 outside the ring while the restrictions after the powerplay allows only four players outside the 25.15 yards.

Like the 30 yard circle is reduced to 25 yards, the boundary length as per ICC states, no boundary shall be longer than 65 yards (59.43 meters), and no boundary should be shorter than 55 yards (50.29 metres) from the centre of the pitch to be used.

ALSO READ: Jinx chapter 49 release date and time, spoilers and where to read online

error: This function is not allowed