What is the Triple Crown in snooker, full winners list and prize money

What is the Triple Crown in snooker, full winners list and prize money

Here is the list of players and winners of the Triple Crown, know it’s meaning in snooker 

A relatively new phrase in the game, the Snooker Triple Crown is comparable to the four majors or grand slams that professional tennis and golf players fight for.

What is the Triple Crown in snooker, meaning, full winners list and prize money

In snooker, the UK Championship in November, the Masters in January, and the World Championship in April and May are the three events that make up the Triple Crown Series. The term “Triple Crown” refers to players who have at some point in their careers won all three tournaments.

During their careers, O’Sullivan, Trump, Mark Selby, and Neil Robertson are among the athletes who have shared the Triple Crown with legends like Alex Higgins and Stephen Hendry by winning every event.


Since Welshman Williams did it in 2002–03, no player has won all three in the same season. Trump has come the closest in the past few years, taking home the 2018–19 World Championship and the Masters.

Ronnie O’Sullivan tops the all-time record with 21 victories in single Triple Crown events during the course of their careers. He currently has seven World Championships, seven UK Championships, and seven Masters titles to his name.


At the 2018 UK Championship, he won his 19th TC event, moving him up to the top of the list above Stephen Hendry. Last year, he set a new record for himself by winning the eighth Mr Q UK Championship, defeating Ding Junhui 10-7 at the York Barbican. Here is the list of Top 10 of Triple Crown Event Champions:

  • Ronnie O’Sullivan (21)
  • Stephen Hendry  (18)
  • Steve Davis (15)
  • Joe Davis (15)
  • Mark Selby (9)
  • John Higgins (9)
  • Fred Davis (8)
  • John Pulman (8)
  • Mark Williams (7)
  • Ray Reardon (7)

The accomplishment of winning a UK Championship, Masters, and World Championship title simultaneously is a record held by just 11 players in history. Have a look at the list below:

  • Steve Davis
  • Terry Griffiths
  • Alex Higgins
  • Stephen Hendry
  • John Higgins
  • Mark Williams
  • Ronnie O’Sullivan
  • Neil Robertson
  • Mark Selby
  • Shaun Murphy
  • Judd Trump

A Triple Crown is achieved by only three players when they win all three events in the same season:

  • Steve Davis (1987/88)
  • Stephen Hendry (1989/90 and 1995/96)
  • Mark Williams (2002/03)

Masters 2024 snooker prize money

Position Prize
Winner £250,000
Runner-up £100,000
Semifinalist £60,000
Quarterfinalist £30,000


error: This function is not allowed