What is the Golden Foot award in football and full list of past winners

What is the Golden Foot award in football and full list of past winners

Here is all you need to know about the Golden Foot and check out who are the past winners list of the award 

The Golden Foot, which has been in place for 20 years, recognises the top players over 28 for their accomplishments over a given calendar year.

What is the Golden Foot award, its meaning in football and full list of past winners

An international football award known as the Golden Foot is granted to players who excel both individually and as a team and who also have a strong personality. Only current players who are at least 28 years old are eligible to win the prize, which may only be taken home once, to honour outstanding senior football players who are continuing to contribute to the game at a high level.

Journalists are in charge of voting, yet winners receive an award that is the epitome of exclusivity because, according to another clause, they are never again eligible. A charity auction has been held in conjunction with the Golden Foot event since 2009. The Hôtel de Paris Monte-Carlo hosts an auction during its gala evening to raise money for the battle against AIDS.


An online poll open to all voters is used to choose the winner from this list. On “The Champions Promenade,” which runs along the Principality of Monaco’s shore, the award winner permanently imprints his footprints.


The trophy was then won by players like Pavel Nedved, Ronaldinho, Ryan Giggs, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Cristiano Ronaldo, and, most recently, Robert Lewandowski. Check out the full list below.

Who are the winners of the Golden Foot?

  • 2003: Roberto Baggio (Brescia)
  • 2004: Pavel Nedvěd (Juventus)
  • 2005: Andriy Shevchenko (Milan)
  • 2006: Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
  • 2007: Alessandro Del Piero (Juventus)
  • 2008: Roberto Carlos (Fenerbahçe)
  • 2009: Ronaldinho (Milan)
  • 2010: Francesco Totti (Roma)
  • 2011: Ryan Giggs (Manchester United)
  • 2012: Zlatan Ibrahimović (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • 2013: Didier Drogba (Galatsaray)
  • 2014: Andres Iniesta (FC Barcelona)
  • 2015: Samuel Eto’o (Antalyaspor)
  • 2016: Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus)
  • 2017: Iker Casillas (Porto)
  • 2018: Edinson Cavani (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • 2019: Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
  • 2020: Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus)
  • 2021:  Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
  • 2022: Robert Lewandowski (FC Barcelona)

Beginning in 2022, an equivalent prize was given to women’s football players. Kosovare Asllani won the women’s Golden Foot trophy in the inaugural year for Milan.


Meanwhile, starting in 2020, a Prestige Award was given out. Here are the winners of the Golden Foot Prestige Award:

  • 2020: Andrea Agnelli
  • 2021: Gabriele Gravina
  • 2022: Florentino Pérez


error: This function is not allowed