PSL 9 2024 auction schedule, date, venue, draft foreign players list and format

PSL 9 2024 auction schedule, date, venue, draft foreign players list and format

Here is all you need to know about PSL 9 Draft 2024 including its retained players, foreign players list, auction date, venue, format and more

The Pakistan Super League’s ninth season, which is scheduled to start in 2024, will see the Shaheen Afridi-led Lahore Qalandars attempt to defend their title.

PSL 9 2024 auction schedule, date, venue, draft foreign players list, teams and format

Approximately 254 international participants are said to have signed up, including Tabraiz Shamsi of South Africa and Mujeeb Ur Rahman and Rahmanullah Gurbaz of Afghanistan.

The National Cricket Academy in Lahore will hold the league’s player draft on December 13, 2023, prior to the action on the pitch. The Quetta Gladiators were assigned to pick first in the player draught, which was officially announced in November.

The Platinum category’s initial selection order was established by utilising the inverse order of the previous season’s standings. Accordingly, Islamabad United, Karachi Kings, Peshawar Zalmi, Multan Sultans, and lastly the Lahore Qalandars would be selected in order of preference.

Instead of using the Indian Premier League’s (IPL) auction model, the PSL uses a draft system in which teams carefully choose players from five different categories: Platinum, Diamond, Gold, Silver, and Emerging teams. Each franchise must field squads of between 16 and 20 players, with a minimum of four Pakistani and four foreign players.


In order to construct squads of 16 to 20 players, each franchise must include a least of four Pakistani and four foreign players.

Four hundred and eighty five international players from 22 nations have registered for the PSL 2024 Player Draft scheduled to take place on 13 December at the National Cricket Academy, Lahore.

The maximum number of players to register from a foreign country are from England (158) and the next on the list – from full member countries – is West Indies (58), Sri Lanka (40), Afghanistan (36), South Africa (30), Bangladesh (21), New Zealand (18), Australia (16), Zimbabwe (11) and Ireland (nine). A considerable number of players have also registered from associate countries.

Some of the prominent players in the Platinum category are: Daniel Sams, Ashton Agar (both Australia), Fazalhaq Farooqi, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Noor Ahmad, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (all Afghanistan), Ben Duckett, Chris Jordan, David Willey, Dawid Malan, Luke Wood, Reece Topley, Tom Curran, Tymal Mills (all England), Sandeep Lamichhane (Nepal), James Neesham (New Zealand), Rassie van der Dussen, Imran Tahir (both South Africa), Maheesh Theekshana, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka (all Sri Lanka), Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Romario Shepherd, Brandon King and Kyle Mayers (all West Indies)

The notable players to feature in Diamond category are: Azmatullah Omarzai, Mohammad Nabi (both Afghanistan), Ben McDermott (Australia), Litton Das, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mahmudullah (all Bangladesh), Dan Lawrence, Gus Atkinson, Jordan Cox, Liam Dawson, Matthew Potts, Ollie Pope, Richard Gleeson, Sam Hain (all England), Tim Seifert, Martin Guptill, Chad Bowes (all New Zealand), George Linde, Lungi Ngidi, Reeza Hendricks, Wayne Parnell, Sisanda Magala (all South Africa), Dilshan Madushanka, Charith Asalanka, Dushmantha Chameera, Sadeera Samarawickrama (all Sri Lanka), Fabian Allen, Johnson Charles, Rahkeem Cornwall, Roston Chase, Shai Hope, Hayden Walsh (all West Indies)

PSL Draft pick

  • Quetta Gladiators: 1st
  • Karachi Kings: 2nd
  • Islamabad United: 3rd
  • Peshawar Zalmi: 4th
  • Multan Sultans: 5th
  • Lahore Qalanadars: 6th

When and where is the PSL 2024 draft?

On December 13, 2023, the PSL 9 draft 2024 will take place at the National Cricket Academy in Lahore.


PSL 2024 retained players

Lahore Qalandars

  •  Rashid Khan
  • Abdullah Shafique
  • Harry Brook
  • Kamran Ghulam
  • Zaman Khan
  • Shaheen Shah Afrid
  • David Wiese

Karachi Kings

  • Haider Ali
  • Imad Wasim
  • Mohammad Amir
  • Shoaib Malik
  • Aamir Yamin
  • Mir Hamza
  • Sharjeel Khan
  • Qasim Akram

Peshawar Zalmi

  • Babar Azam
  • Salman Irshad
  • Tom-Kohler Cadmore
  • Sherfane Rutherford
  • Wahab Riaz
  • Mohammad Haris
  • Aamir Jamal

Multan Sultans

  • Mohammad Rizwan
  • Khushdil Shah
  • Rilee Rossouw
  • Shan Masood
  • Shahnawaz Dahani
  • Tim David
  • Abbas Afridi
  • Ihsanullah

Islamabad United

  • Shadab Khan (Platinum)
  • Asif Ali
  • Mohammad Wasim Jnr
  • Azam Khan
  • Faheem Ashraf
  • Hasan Ali. Colin Munro
  • Paul Stirling

Quetta Gladiators

  • Mohammad Nawaz
  • Umar Akmal
  • Will Smeed
  • Iftikhar Ahmed
  • Jason Roy
  • Mohammad Hasnain
  • Sarfaraz Ahmed
  • Naveen ul Haq