La Liga 2023-2024 winner and runner up prize money pool details

La Liga 2023-2024 winner and runner up prize money pool details

Have a look at the La Liga 2023-2024 winner prize money 

Real Madrid, left fans in awe following the club crowned the 2023-2024 La Liga champions. After witnessing the epic moment, Madrid fans are looking enthusiastically at the winning prize money for the team.

For the curious, Real Madrid will not receive a direct financial prize for winning the Spanish title. However, their 36th domestic championship will indirectly enhance their finances by increasing the club’s share of the league’s TV revenue.

La Liga 2023-2024 winner and runner up prize money pool 

For the unversed, Under LaLiga’s current system for distributing revenue from broadcasting rights for top-tier men’s soccer in Spain, a quarter of the income is allocated to first-division clubs based on their final standings in the league table.

How Many Funds Will Champions Get?

The season’s champions receive 17% of the performance-based funds allocated by LaLiga, while the runners-up get 15%, and the team finishing in third place is awarded 13%.

According to LaLiga’s released data on TV earnings for the 2022/23 season, the first under the league’s current TV contract teams in the Primera División collectively earned just over €313 million ($337 million) in performance-related TV income.

Payout For Champions

The La Liga champions receive a payout of €53.3 million, though this amount is distributed over five seasons, with an initial payment of €18.6 million.


As champions, Real Madrid will receive 17 percent of the total prize pool, amounting to approximately USD 57.6 million, disbursed over 5 seasons.

FC Barcelona, as runners-up, will receive 15 percent of the prize pool, translating to around USD 50.7 million.

Girona, finishing third, will get 13 percent of the total prize money, which is nearly USD 44 million.

Benefits Other than Prize Money

Each year, the top four teams in La Liga qualify for the following season’s UEFA Champions League. The fifth-placed team and the winner of the Copa del Rey earn spots in the UEFA Europa League.


If the Copa del Rey winner qualifies for the Champions League, the Europa League spot goes to the sixth-placed team in La Liga.

Real Madrid set themselves up to secure this season’s La Liga title with a victory over Cádiz earlier today. Barcelona’s subsequent defeat to Girona confirmed Carlo Ancelotti’s side as league champions for the third time in five years.

Goals from Brahim Díaz, Jude Bellingham, and Joselu Mato secured a 3-0 win for Madrid at the Estadio Santiago Bernabéu. Meanwhile, Portu’s brace led Girona to a 4-2 victory over Barça at Montilivi.


FC Barcelona won the first edition of the Spanish league. Since then, La Liga has crowned nine different champions.

Real Madrid is the most successful club in the tournament’s history, having secured a record 36th title, the latest of which was in the 2023-24 season.

ALSO READ: Watch Kevin Magnussen and Sergio Perez involved in horrific Monaco GP 2024 crash, accident video goes viral