ICC ODI Cricket World Cup India 2023 schedule, start and final date, teams list, venue, format

ICC ODI Cricket World Cup India 2023 schedule, start and final date, teams list, venue, format

India is all set to host the upcoming 2023 ICC ODI World Cup, check out the list of qualified teams, tournament format, schedule window, teams, start and final date

So far, seven of the ten teams have qualified for the upcoming show-piece ODI tournament.

ICC ODI Cricket World Cup India 2023 schedule, start and final date, teams list, venue and format

While India have a direct qualification berth as the hosts, six of the other teams who have qualified so far, had to secure one through the Cricket World Cup Super League.

The CWCSL is a competition that has been running over the past three years and features the top 13 world cricket teams.


The top eight teams of Cricket World Cup Super League earned a direct spot. Meanwhile, the remaining five teams will head into the qualifiers, alongside the top three teams from League 2. The two teams from the qualifier playoffs will win the final two spots for the 10-team World Cup.

2023 ODI World Cup Qualified Teams

Team Qualifying Path
India Hosts/Third in Super League
Afghanistan Seventh in Super League
Australia Sixth in Super League
Bangladesh Fourth in Super League
England First in Super League
New Zealand Second in Super League
Pakistan Fifth in Super League
TBA (one of West Indies, Sri Lanka, Ireland, South Africa) Eighth Automatic Spot from Super League
TBA Top Two From Qualifiers
TBA Top Two From Qualifiers

The Qualifiers for the 2023 World Cup will feature West Indies, Sri Lanka, South Africa or Ireland. Alongside them, Zimbabwe, Netherlands, Scotland, Oman, Nepal, and two more teams from the Qualifier playoff will also take part. This means that we will see six teams will battle for the spots.

Meanwhile, the Qualifier playoff between Jersey, Namibia, USA, Canada, Papua New Guinea, and UAE will take place from March 24 to April 5. Following which, the top two teams will head into the Qualifier rounds scheduled for June in Zimbabwe.

ICC ODI World Cup 2023 format

The ICC 2023 World Cup will feature 10 teams like the previous 2019 edition. Each of the 10 team will face each other in a single round-robin format. Once the round-robin format concludes, the top four teams will then progress to the knockout rounds.

The knockout rounds consist of the semifinals and the final round. In the semifinals round, the first placed team will face the fourth placed team. Meanwhile, the second placed team will battle it out with the third-placed side, which will determine the finalists.


ICC ODI World Cup 2023 schedule window

The schedule window for the highly anticipated ICC World Cup 2023 is set from October-November. The ICC will release the full schedule once the qualifier ends and the teams are finalized. According to reports, the World Cup could start on October 5th. Meanwhile, the final could take place on November 19th at the Narendra Modi Stadium, located in Ahmedabad.

ALSO READ: Who is Lotus drummer Chuck Morris as he and his son Charley go missing, age, wife and family