George Kambosos Jr vs Devin Haney Purse, Payouts, Fight Winner, Full Undercard Results, Score

George Kambosos Jr vs Devin Haney Purse, Payouts, Fight Winner, Full Undercard Results, Score

The much anticipated George Kambosos Jr vs Devin Haney took place on 4th June, 2022 with the undisputed lightweight crown at stake, we take a look at the results, winner, undercard, purse, payout, and future of Davis

At the age of 23, American Devin Haney is the undisputed lightweight champion of the world, having won unanimously on points. Haney won a unanimous decision (116-112, 116-112, 118-112) to become the first lightweight fighter in history to win the WBA, IBF, WBO, and WBC championships. George Kambosos Jr, blessed with a tremendous jab, could scarcely land a punch on Haney, whose footwork and evasion were too good for the Australian.

George Kambosos Jr vs Devin Haney Gervonta Purse, Payouts, Fight Winner, Full Undercard Results And Score

Players Estimated PPV Share Guaranteed Purse
George Kambosos Jr. 70% $10,000,000
Devin Haney 30% $2,800,000

On Saturday, 4th June, 2022, the fight took place at Marvel Stadium in Melbourne, Australia. The main card kicked-off at 10 a.m. AEST / 8 p.m. ET / 1 a.m. BST, with main event ring walks beginning at 2 p.m. AEST / 11 p.m. ET / 4 a.m. BST. The fight between George Kambosos Jr. vs Devin Haney was a 12-round Lightweight Division match with the Undisputed World Lightweight Title at stake.

On Saturday night, Devin Haney was eager to step up and fly to Australia to face George Kambosos Jr. for the undisputed lightweight title. That choice paid off handsomely for Haney, as he destroyed Kambosos over the course of 12 rounds to capture all four world titles at 135 pounds. Haney is only the eighth boxer in any weight class to unify all four recognized belts, and he is the second youngest at only 23 years old.

Advertisement

The fight had very little drama, with Haney developing a great jab right away, preventing Kambosos from ever getting his attack going. As the jab hit, Haney threw a series of lead left hooks and straight right hands behind it, each one preventing Kambosos from releasing his right hand, which he appeared to have been loading up all night. In the end, Haney won by unanimous decision, with scores of 116-112, 116-112, and 118-110 on the official scorecards.

Full Fight Card

  • George Kambosos Jr. lost against Devin Haney: For Kambosos’ WBO, WBA, IBF and Ring Magazine lightweight belts, and Haney’s WBC title
  • Jason Maloney defeated Aston Palicte: Bantamweight
  • Junior Fa lost against Lucas Browne: Heavyweight
  • Hemi Ahio defeated Christian Ndzie: Heavyweight
  • David Nyika won against Karim Maatalla: Cruiserweight

George Kambosos Jr. vs Devin Haney Rematch Clause, Venue, And Post-match Reactions

Kambosos Jr. has a rematch clause, with the sequel set to take place in Australia once more if both the players agree for a rematch. There is certainly a lot of interest from the Australian audience, as 41,129 people attended the bout at Marvel Stadium, making it the second-largest crowd in Australian contemporary boxing history.

Advertisement

Many boxing fans insisted that a rematch shouldn’t happen as Haney completely dominated Kambosos Jr. in the fight. However, due to the rematch clause in the contract, a rematch is highly likely as Kambasos will be desperate to get back his titles.

Advertisement

Also Read: UFC Fight Night 200 Hermansson Vs Strickland Schedule, Date, Time, Fight Card, Odds, Prediction, Tickets, Live Stream

Recommended: The Sports Fan App

Advertisement