FIFA World Cup Young Player of The Tournament Award All Time Winners List And Winner Prize Money

FIFA World Cup Young Player of The Tournament Award All Time Winners List And Winner Prize Money

After his valuable contribution in important matches including the final, Enzo Fernandez was blessed with the Young Player of the Tournament award, know the award winners list of 2022 FIFA World Cup along with all-time Golden Glove winner and prize money

During Argentina’s win against France, their star-kid Enzo Fernandez was everywhere on the field and managed 118 touches including 77 successful passes & 10 tackles. Owing to his heroic performance throughout the tournament, Enzo Fernandez was recognized with the Young Player of the Tournament Award.

FIFA World Cup Young Player of The Tournament Award All Time Winners List, Winner Prize Money


FIFA World Cup Young Player of the Tournament History, Format, & List of All-Time Winners

Lukas Podolski of Germany received the inaugural FIFA Young Player Award, also known as the Best Young Player Award, at the 2006 World Cup in Germany. Each tournament’s top performer, who is at most 21 years old is the usual recipient of this honor and hence, 2022 Best Young Player was chosen amongst players born after 1st January, 2001.

With the assistance of FIFA Technical Study Group, the voting for 2006 World Cup’s Best Young Player was conducted online. To recognize ‘Best Young Player’ from previous editions, FIFA had an online poll for users to select the winner for each edition. In 2002, the results were announced with Pelé receiving 61% of the total vote, beating out Teófilo Cubillas of Peru, who won the award for best young player at Mexico 1970, & Michael Owen of England, who excelled at France in 1998.

World Cup FIFA Young Player Age
1958 Sweden Brazil Pelé 17
1962 Chile Hungary Flórián Albert 20
1966 England West Germany Franz Beckenbauer 20
1970 Mexico Peru Teófilo Cubillas 21
1974 West Germany Poland Władysław Żmuda 20
1978 Argentina Italy Antonio Cabrini 20
1982 Spain France Manuel Amoros 21
1986 Mexico Belgium Enzo Scifo 20
1990 Italy Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia Robert Prosinečki 21
1994 United States Netherlands Marc Overmars 20
1998 France England Michael Owen 18
2002 South Korea/Japan United States Landon Donovan 20
2006 Germany Germany Lukas Podolski 21
2010 South Africa Germany Thomas Müller 20
2014 Brazil France Paul Pogba 21
2018 Russia France Kylian Mbappé 19
2022 Qatar Argentina Enzo Fernández 21

2022 FIFA World Cup: Young Player of the Tournament Results & Winner

At the 2022 World Cup, Enzo Fernandez was named the Best Young Player of the Competition. As Argentina won the World Cup for a third time, the Benfica starlet participated in all seven of La Albiceleste’s contests in Qatar. After a strong tournament, Fernandez triumphed over rivals Jude Bellingham, Goncalo Ramos, & Aurelien Tchouameni to win the prize. The youthful player, who only made his international debut in September, earned a spot in the starting lineup in Qatar after coming off the bench to score an incredible goal in the group-stage victory over Mexico.


Even though this award won’t provide any additional prize money, Argentina team were awarded $42 million for becoming winners of the 2022 FIFA World Cup.

Also Read: Patna Pirates vs Dabang Delhi PKL 2022 Final Schedule, Date, Time, Head To Head Record, Playing 7, Prediction, Live Streaming


Recommended: The Sports Fan App