England vs India Test Series 2021, ECB Announces 17 Man Squad For The First Two Matches

England vs India Test Series 2021, ECB Announces 17 Man Squad For The First Two Matches

England has declared a 17 member squad ahead of the anticipated five match England vs India test series 

England Cricket Board has revealed a 17-member line-up for the next five-game test game series versus India, which will be held in Nottingham on the 4th of August. The particular series commencement will mark the beginning of the second edition of the World Test Championship 2021-23.

English all-rounder Ben Stokes made a remarkable return to the England squad after missing the two-match series against New Zealand on their turf.

Squad Members Included By ECB For England vs India 2021 Test Series

Joe Root (c), Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Dan Lawrence, Ollie pope, Mark Wood, Zak Crawley, Dom Sibley, Dom Bess, Haseeb Hameed, Rory Burns, Jack Leach, Ben Stokes, Stuart Broad, Ollie Robinson, James Anderson

Owing to his finger injury 30-year old Ben Stokes had been excluded from the New Zealand series. He subsequently made a return on the global stage as he led the England ODI squad during Pakistan’s three-game series. 

Besides Stokes, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Curran,  Jos Buttler, who were all pulled back for the New Zealand series just after the mid-IPL 2021 are all returning.


Haseeb Hameed, who had a strong county campaign recently, has been summoned, having last appeared for England in the whites during India’s visit in 2016.

The Menacing Bowling Unit Of The Host – England For The Longest Format

Furthermore, the squad have the likes Ollie Robinson, who has been cleared for an international comeback following the completion of an ECB investigation into past abusive comments.


The incident came to light amid his first debut match against New Zealand at Lord’s. Following an excellent debut in which he took 7 scalps and notched 42 runs well with the bat. 

The duo of pacers James Anderson and Stuart Broad have been chosen, while the specialist spinners are Jack Leach and Dom Bess. Due to an injury, neither Jofra Archer nor Chris Woakes have been included in the Test series against India. Archer is unable to participate owing to elbow woes. 

Woakes exclusion was due to his heel ailment, which occurred during his appearance in the limited format against Sri Lanka.  


READ MORE: Arsenal Transfer News 2021-22: Gunners Acquire The Services Of Albert Sambi Lokonga From Anderlecht For A Transfer Fee Of €22Million