Davis Cup Finals 2023 prize money pool breakdown by team

Davis Cup Finals 2023 prize money pool breakdown by team

Check out the Davis Cup 2023 prize money pool breakdown by team

Davis Cup participants and teams vie not only for international prestige but also for substantial financial rewards. Despite Canada clinching the 2022 title, their financial prospects diminished in the 2023 edition after a quarterfinal exit at the hands of Finland.

Novak Djokovic played a pivotal role in Serbia’s advancement, securing an undefeated personal Davis Cup streak of 21 matches by defeating Cameron Norrie on the way to a semifinal clash with Italy in Malaga.

Davis Cup Finals 2023 tennis prize money pool breakdown by team

Djokovic expressed the unique pressure and motivation associated with playing for one’s country, especially after a grueling season that takes a toll on the players’ legs.


Prize Money

The total prize money for the 2023 Davis Cup reportedly exceeds $6.5 million (around £5.2 million). This is a significant leap from the tournament’s humble beginnings in 1900 when Dwight Davis, one of the founding players, personally funded the trophy.

The champions receive $2.1 million (£1.7 million), a sum surpassing the runner-up’s reward by over $500,000 (£397,000) and outpacing the teams eliminated in the group stage by nearly $1.5 million (£1.2 million).

While the potential earnings from the Davis Cup may pale in comparison to the singles competitions at grand slam tournaments, the tournament’s historical significance and the pride associated with representing one’s nation make it a coveted achievement for the participating stars.

Novak Djokovic, echoing the sentiments of many players, expressed gratitude for being part of the national team, emphasizing that the Davis Cup is one of his “greatest goals” of the season.

Prize Money Breakdown

The breakdown of reported prize money for the Davis Cup 2023 is as follows:

– Winner: $2.1 million (£1.7 million)


– Runner-up: $1.5 million (£1.2 million)

– Semifinal: $1.3 million (£1 million)

– Quarterfinal: $1.1 million (£873,000)

– Group Stages: $514,000 (£408,000)


The tournament featured a diverse array of teams, including Canada, Finland, Czech Republic, Australia, Italy, Netherlands, Serbia, and Great Britain. Each team brought its roster of talented players, contributing to the global spectacle of the Davis Cup.


Where to Watch

Broadcasting rights were secured by various networks, with Spain’s Movistar, the USA’s Tennis Channel, the UK’s BBC, Australia’s Nine Network and beIN Sports, Canada’s Sportsnet, TVA, and CBC, India’s Sony, and the International coverage by Tennis Channel.

ALSO READ: Watch “I’m dating Josh,” alleged video of Liv Cooke revealing she’s the GF of Josh Giddey goes viral