David Warner captaincy record in the IPL and T20 cricket

David Warner captaincy record in the IPL and T20 cricket

In the Indian Premier League, Australian player David Warner has a respectable reputation as a captain, a look at Warner’s captaincy record in the IPL

David Warner will lead the Delhi Capitals team in the 2023 IPL season, the team announced on Thursday, March 16 via their social media accounts.

Australian player David Warner has a solid record as a captain in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Warner replaced Rishabh Pant as the leader of the Capitals only for the 16th IPL season.

Pant was hurt tragically on December 30, 2022, in a car accident, and is not expected to be completely healthy for the upcoming IPL season.

Warner will be in charge of the Capitals in IPL 2023, and Indian all-rounder Axar Patel will be his deputy.

David Warner captaincy record in IPL and T20 cricket

David Warner’s first season as IPL captain came in 2013. The Australian was chosen to act as the interim leader of the Delhi Daredevils (the team’s previous name) for a few games.

The animosity towards Sri Lanka in Tamil Nadu prevented Mahela Jayawardene, the regular skipper, from playing against CSK in Chepauk.


While the Sri Lankan was still able to play for the Daredevils against RCB, Jayawardene named Warner the captain to give him some experience leading the team before the CSK game.

David Warner’s captaincy record for SRH in IPL

In the 2013 IPL, David Warner’s tenure as Delhi’s captain did not go well as they lost both of their games against RCB and CSK.

Warner joined the brand-new Sunrisers Hyderabad team in 2014. He succeeded Daren Sammy as captain of SRH in 2015.

In their final league stage contest, which was also a virtual elimination game, the Orange Army lost to the Mumbai Indians and were consequently denied a playoff berth.


Sunrisers Hyderabad won the IPL 2016 title for the first time under Warner’s leadership after defeating RCB in the final.

He was the only captain in IPL history to win in the playoff round after his side finished third in the points standings.

SRH won eight out of its 14 league games in the 2017 IPL, but they lost to KKR in the quarterfinals.

Warner was disqualified from the IPL 2018 tournament as a result of his involvement in the ball-tampering controversy in Cape Town.


It wasn’t until 2019 that the southpaw made a comeback as a contender. In time for the 2020 IPL, Warner was chosen by SRH to serve as captain once more. To reach the semifinals, the team beat RCB in the Eliminator, but they lost to Delhi in Qualifier 2.

After losing five of the first six games of the IPL 2021 in India, SRH replaced Williamson as captain and dismissed Warner.

Under David Warne’s direction, SRH played 67 games, winning 35 and losing 30. His overall win rate as IPL captain is 52.17%, with 35 wins out of 69 games.