Champions Trophy 2025 schedule, start date, teams list, host venue and format

Champions Trophy 2025 schedule, start date, teams list, host venue and format

A 20-day window has been identified for the Champions Trophy 2025 (CT 2025), which will be hosted by Pakistan, have a look at the schedule, dates and teams

Sources from the International Cricket Council (ICC) and the cricket boards of countries participating in CT 2025 have confirmed the news.

For the unfamiliar, Champions Trophy 2025 will be the 9th edition of the ICC Champions Trophy.

Champions Trophy 2025 schedule, start date, teams list, host venue and format details

As per the media reports, the tournament is set to begin on February 19, 2025 with the final match schedule to take place on Sunday, March 9th, 2025. The full schedule is yet to be released.

This will be the first Champions Trophy since 2017 when Pakistan defeated India to become the champions.

As of now, the detailed schedule of the match isn’t announced by organizers. However, they have revealed that all games will be completed within 20-day window.

Teams & Total Matches

For the curious, Champions Trophy 2025 will have a total of 15 matches with 8 participating teams. Pakistan are the defending champions as well as host of the tournament as they emerged victorious in Champions Trophy 2017.


According to the information provided by organizers, tentative proposed dates have been sent to all the cricket boards, so that they can plan accordingly for their T20 leagues schedule.

According to the media reports, at first, the ICC wished to start the competition on Friday and conclude the tournament on Sunday. However, the proposed dates revealed that the tournament is expected to start on Wednesday and will conclude on Sunday.

The format of the 2025 Cricket Champions Trophy follows a traditional pattern and it consists of four teams divided into two groups playing in the one day format.


List of teams who have qualified for the Champions Trophy:

  1. India
  2. South Africa
  3. Australia
  4. New Zealand
  5. Afghanistan
  6. England
  7. Pakistan (hosts)
  8. Bangladesh

Let us remind you, that the 2017 Championship Trophy was held for an 18-day window. At the time, the tournament began on Thursday, June 1, 2017, and ended on Sunday, June 18, 2017.

Venue Details

Pakistan is officially the host of the tournament, but the Indian government’s reluctance to allow its team to travel to Pakistan for the Champions trophy may turn the event into a hybrid model, similar to the last Asia Cup when India played all their matches in Sri Lanka and as per media reports, PCB is planning to host the Champions Trophy 2025 in Karachi, Lahore and Rawalpindi.


India could play their all Champions Trophy 2025 matches in one city, Lahore, it has been reported and it is also speculated that the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) might organize the tournament using a hybrid model similar to the 2023 Asia Cup.

In the previous Asia Cup, all of India’s matches and the final were played in Sri Lanka. There has been no official statement from the BCCI, PCB, or ICC regarding whether Team India will travel to Pakistan.

ALSO READ: Who is Noa Argamani as hostage is rescued by Israel in Gaza, bio, age, boyfriend, mother and Instagram