Border Gavaskar Trophy (BGT) winners list and most wins in history

Border Gavaskar Trophy (BGT) winners list and most wins in history

Team India is all set to host Australia for a four-match Test series for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, while that takes place, check out the full list of winners and runners of the BGT till date

The two cricket powerhouses are set to face off against one another on February 9 for the first time this year in a red-ball series.

Border Gavaskar Trophy (BGT) winners full list and most wins in history

Both sides are determined to win the series, as it will guarantee them a spot in the ICC World Test Championship 2023.

The Border-Gavaskar trophy

The Border-Gavaskar Trophy was not always named that way. It first started out as a Test series between India and Australia between the years 1947 to 1996. The competition however, got renamed to the Border-Gavaskar Trophy in the year 1996 in order to celebrate the record-breaking achievements of two cricket legends- Australian cricketer Allan Border and Indian cricketer Sunil Gavaskar.


Since then, the Border-Gavaskar Trophy has had 15 series played out. India has won nine of those meetings, whereas Australia has won five series and one resulted in a draw. The upcoming Australia vs India schedule will begin at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium in Nagpur. Interestingly, the winners of the series will earn a spot in the upcoming World test Championship final.

Check out some some of the stats of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy below.


Border-Gavaskar Trophy full list of winners and runners list (1966 – Present)

Given below is the full list of winners and runners list of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy from 1966-present, along with other details like series, margins, and hosts:

Season Winner Series (matches) Margin Host
1996/97 India 1 1-0 India
1997/98 India 3 2-1 India
1999/00 Australia 3 3-0 Australia
2000/01 India 3 2-1 India
2003/04 Draw 4 1-1 Australia
2004/05 Australia 4 2-1 India
2007/08 Australia 4 2-1 Australia
2008/09 India 4 2-0 India
2010/11 India 2 2-0 India
2011/12 Australia 4 4-0 Australia
2012/13 India 4 4-0 India
2014/15 Australia 4 2-0 Australia
2016/17 India 4 2-1 India
2018/19 India 4 2-1 Australia
2020/21 India 4 2-1 Australia

Most number of wins in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy

Given below is the full list of wins the each team has got in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy:

Winner Victories Winning season
India 9 1996/97, 1997/98, 2000/01, 2008/09, 2010/11, 2012/13, 2016/17, 2018/19, 2020/21
Australia 5 1999/00, 2004/05, 2007/08, 2011/12, 2014/15

ALSO READ: Women’s T20I Tri-series: Victories against India will be ‘major boost’ for South Africa, says Marizanne Kapp

Recommended: Sports Fan App