BlitzChamps III chess tournament 2024 schedule, date, time, players lineup, prize money and live stream

BlitzChamps III chess tournament 2024 schedule, date, time, players lineup, prize money and live stream

BlitzChamps is back for season III, to determine the NFL’s best chess player, check out all the details of the 2024 chess tournament below, including the schedule, start date, players to watch, format, prize money, how to watch live, and more

This year,’s Chief Chess Officer, IM Danny Rensch, will comment alongside former Baltimore Ravens offensive linesman John Urschel.

BlitzChamps III chess tournament 2024 schedule, date, time, players lineup, prize money and live stream telecast where to watch

The commentators are set to analyse the play together live from the NFL Films studios, located in New Jersey.

BlitzChamps III start date

BlitzChamps III is set to kick off on May 22, for 2024 at 12pm ET or 3pm PT.

NFL announces BlitzChamps III

Greg Smith, who is the NFL Films Senior Producer, shared his excitement for the upcoming competition, stating:


The explosion of chess into the NFL is truly a phenomenon, thanks largely to the incredible work of They’ve made chess accessible to everyone, everywhere, any time, and are innovative in their approaches to reaching new players. NFL Films is thrilled to be hosting BlitzChamps III.

The tourney field is stacked with great personalities, legends of football, and some very solid chess players! Danny Rensch, John Urschel, and Cynthia Frelund are a first-class broadcasting team that provide insightful and entertaining commentary.

BlitzChamps III players to watch

This year’s edition will feature an impressive lineup of two Super Bowl LVIII champions, as well as various NFL legends, and rising stars. Amongst the players, reigning champion Drue Tranquill, who is a linebacker for the Kansas City Chiefs will return to defend his title. Last year’s losing finalist Chidobe Awuzie, will also compete this year.

Tranquill’s teammate Justin Reid, will also compete for the trophy for a second time. Another notable name is NFL legend Larry Fitzgerald Jr. who is widely considered as one of the greatest wide receivers. Larry previously lost out to Awuzie in the semifinals of both BlitzChamps 2022 and 2023.


Meanwhile, 2022 winer Awuzie, will also be looking to win back the title alongside his longtime Dallas Cowboys chess rival, Amari Cooper, who currently plays for the Cleveland Browns.  Another NFL legend Michael Vick, who played 13 seasons in the NFL will be making his BlitzChamps debut this year. Other notable new entries include Arizona Cardinals quarterback Kyler Murray, Buffalo Bills wide receiver Mack Hollins, and Quenton Nelson as a wildcard entry.

BlitzChamps III format

Notably, BlitzChamps III will be a double-elimination tournament and all the matches will follow a best-of-two format in the first round. After the first round, the players will be divided into a winner’s bracket (5+0) and a losers bracket (3+0). In the event of a tie players will follow a 3+0 sudden death.

BlitzChamps III prize money

This year’s tournament will feature a total cash prize worth $100,000, out of which the winner will receive $30,000 to donate to any charity of their choice. Meanwhile, the remaining $70,000 will go to the other charities.


BlitzChamps III how to watch live

This year again, NFL Films will document the entire tournament as part of their NFL Films Presents series. Fans can watch it on the NFL Network and FS1.

ALSO READ: Barsapara Cricket Stadium Guwahati pitch report, weather forecast, T20 and IPL record, stats and IPL 2024 matches