AFC Champions League 2023-24 winner prize money and past winners list

AFC Champions League 2023-24 winner prize money and past winners list

With the 2023-24 AFC Champions League all set to begin very soon, check out the prize money breakdown, past winners list, and more below

This year’s competition will be the last tournament which follows the current format, with future tournaments set to follow a three-tiered competition structure.

AFC Champions League 2023-24 winner prize money and past winners full list


The new ACL structure will be just like UEFA’s and it will decrease the number of clubs in the top level of the competition.

2023/24 AFC Champions League prize money breakdown

Aside from winning the title and prize money, teams will also receive significant amount of money for progressing each round. This year’s competition will have the same prize money payouts as the last two years. Given below is the prize money breakdown of the upcoming tournament:

Result Prize money (USD)
Group stage win $50,000
Group stage draw $10,000
Round of 16 $100,000
Quarterfinals $150,000
Semifinals $250,000
Runners-up $2,000,000
Champions $4,000,000

2023/24 AFC Champions League format

Earlier this year, the Asian confederation announced that next year’s competition will bring back the AFC Champions League Elite format. It will serve as the continent’s top club competition featuring fewer clubs (24 participants) with a 200 percent increase in prize money. Meanwhile, it will have two lower level competitions – the AFC Champions League 2 and the AFC Challenge League. Both competitions correspond to UEFA’s Europa League and Europa Conference League.


AFC Champions League full list of past winners

Al-Hilal hold the record for the most wins in the competition’s history, having won it four times. Behind them are South Korean club Pohang Steelers, who have won three times. Meanwhile, South Korea remains the most successful country, with their clubs winning the ACL title 12 times.

Year Winners Country
1967 Hapoel Tel Aviv Israel
1969 Maccabi Tel Aviv Israel
1970 Taj Tehran Iran
1971 Maccabi Tel Aviv Israel
1985–86 Daewoo Royals South Korea
1986 Furukawa Electric Japan
1987 Yomiuri FC Japan
1988–89 Al-Sadd Qatar
1989–90 Liaoning China
1990–91 Esteghlal Iran
1991 Al-Hilal Saudi Arabia
1992–93 PAS Tehran Iran
1993–94 Thai Farmers Bank Thailand
1994–95 Thai Farmers Bank Thailand
1995 Ilhwa Chunma South Korea
1996–97 Pohang Steelers South Korea
1997–98 Pohang Steelers South Korea
1998–99 Jubilo Iwata Japan
1999–2000 Al-Hilal Saudi Arabia
2000–01 Suwon Samsung Bluewings South Korea
2001–02 Suwon Samsung Bluewings South Korea
2002–03 Al-Ain UAE
2004 Al-Ittihad Saudi Arabia
2005 Al-Ittihad Saudi Arabia
2006 Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors South Korea
2007 Urawa Red Diamonds Japan
2008 Gamba Osaka Japan
2009 Pohang Steelers South Korea
2010 Seongnam Ilhwa Chunma South Korea
2011 Al-Sadd Qatar
2012 Ulsan Hyundai South Korea
2013 Guangzhou Evergrande China
2014 Western Sydney Wanderer Australia
2015 Guangzhou Evergrande China
2016 Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors South Korea
2017 Urawa Red Diamonds Japan
2018 Kashima Antlers Japan
2019 Al-Hilal Saudi Arabia
2020 Ulsan Hyundai South Korea
2021 Al-Hilal Saudi Arabia
2022 Urawa Red Diamonds Japan

ALSO READ: Jordan Noyes Colorado State kicker wife, age, family, parents, children and stats